23

petak

listopad

2020

SCREENPLAY ''TOPAZ IN FLINT'' - DAJANA DIVERNO - THE FIRST ANTHOLOGY

SCENE 1: (Buying of jewelry at the flint shore)
(River Loara, moonlight, trees in the forest make noise. Image of waves. Human caricature stepped form the stairwell, he wore a coat. He stood there for a few moments. Adam Legoix approached him. Image of the full moon and glare in the water).
ADAM: I have been waiting for you!
JEAN:Really?-(he looked around for a few moments)
ADAM: Yes, it is frightening.
JEAN: What can be frightening?
ADAM: The moon. Luckily this is not a lake.
JEAN: I heard a lot of nonsense lately. Tell me, do you have it?
ADAM: I brought it. But, first i would like to point out a few things.
JEAN: What things-something we don’t know?
ADAM:The moon has always frightened me, you know...
JEAN: Why, the moon is an everyday occurrence.
ADAM: Yes, you are right. It comes up every night, it is just that .... All that bussiness with water...
JEAN: (he took deep breath) I don’t have time to waste. I am asking one more time, you stupid peasant creature-do you have it with you?
ADAM: Yes, i am obligated to point out certain things to you…family that owned it, fell apart, so...)
JEAN: I don’t want to listen to other family’s disputes (he gave him the baggy)
ADAM:I understand, it’s just....
JEAN:Really? (Adam took the baggy and took golden coins fromthe baggy)
JEAN:Gold coins are here, everything is here. Now, you and your family are safe for the rest of your lives. Tell me…
ADAM: You are probably moving.
JEAN: Moving?
ADAM: As far away from the necklace as possible!
JEAN: This conversation is superfluous.
He took the baggy out of his pocket, then he took the necklace out. Jean Louis took it in his hands and turned it toward the water.
ADAM: If I were you I would not bring that close to water.
JEAN: What will happen? Look at it shining, sparkling. Now, I understand Madam de Montespan, and her desire to own the jewelry ‘’Lerize”.
ADAM: Jewelry Lerize is…
JEAN: What?
ADAM: Dangerous (Jean Louis looked at him)
JEAN: Look at yourself-you are terrified from two pearls and two blue hearts.
ADAM: Those hearts are…
JEAN: A really expensive jewelry.
ADAM: You don’t understand. The jewelry is life threatening. It seduces like music. Jewelry brings bad luck (he waved his head).
JEAN: Nonsense. No one died from jewelry!
ADAM: (He shrugged his shoulders). It was my duty to tell you. If I were you I would throw it along with flint in the water! (he looked at the waves, on the flint shore where they stood)
JEAN: Do talk to me about old wives tales about the moon and evil forces, but tell me exactly how much gold coins do you need? Is this enough? (he gave him more coins)- It is night now. It is difficult to see.
ADAM: (He took the gold coins, without counting them) I trust your word about the coins, I would not….
JEAN: You should still count the money. Here, we will sit here….
ADAM: No, not there! (he seemed frightened). Not close to water!
JEAN: Still, I should…
ADAM: I trust you, but as far away as possible from flint. Even if it’s not all there, it does not matter! Let it be a small gift for you. I don’t want to come close to flint.
JEAN: You, stupid, superstitious fool!
ADAM: Time for me to go mister Jean Louis. I wish you… I wish you… that you and madam Montespan to get rid of the jewelry! And don’t forget (he pointed his hand toward the shore) about the flint. Time for me to go. Trip to the village is long!
JEAN: (he got up on his horse and looked toward the shore). Crazy, simple fool! (he rode his horse over fields all the way to the estate of madam de Montespan. Great estate doors opened up as he approached and madam de Montespan watched his arrival from the window).

Translation: Goran Rapaic


<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.