ira-saro diary

nedjelja, 26.07.2009.

What goes up must come down Spinnin' wheel got to go 'round

This weekend was the KR Retreat. At the time I signed up for it I knew I really really wanted to go. Sue helped pay for it putting it firmly in the birthday present category. And boy am I ever glad I went. Im one of those who can let herself forget what all the excitement is about so she doesnt get disappointed. I think even if I had let myself get super excited I couldnt have imagined how much fun I was going to have. And lets admit it. Last week was the dumps for me folks. Thursday ended my week with nothing going right and a young lawyer thinking he could play the intimidation game. I was never so glad to not have to go to work the next day. So I spent Thursday evening getting my stuff together, finishing my swatches, and spending time with Sue.Friday morning I got the last of my things together, visited the bank, picked up the car and drove down the highway to Great day for a Sunday drive folks: singing in the car, checking out the roadside bbq joints, and admiring the countryside. And Graves Mountain Lodge is DEFINITELY in the countryside. By the time I got there I couldnt wait to begin knitting. Martha and Clara greeted me. My roomie Amie was there to give me a great big hug. I found myself an empty chair in the corner and got knitting. I met 2 sets of wonderful ladies: Judith and Lindaon my left were from a VA spinning guild. They were wonderful to share their knowledge and experience with me. Both of them had really lovely knitted things. Most of them they had spun, and in the picture you see here Judith is on the left wearing a vest that she dyed the roving with mushrooms, spun the yarn and knit the vest. Phenomenal. I am thinking she said it was a weekend class they took together. Every diamond is a different mushroom. Awesome. Judith tried to help me learn how to spin. I guess I am a slow learner bc while she was delligent, I never got fully got there. Becky and Shawn sat on my right.(and can I say right now that Shawn is an awesome womans name and there were 2 of them this weekend?? Very cool.) Both of them are multi talented as well. Becky and I discussed embroidery and quilting. Shawn and I discussed spinning and knitting and sewing. I met many, many wonderful people. It was nice to have so much talent in one room. If you had a question you could just wander over and ask someone how they did what they did. Plenty of teachers, lots of learners. My kind of group to hang out with. And since I am a horrible person with names please excuse me if I forget to mention who was who. Friday nite was show and tell. And Graves Lodge? Its food overload. But with all our sitting, talking, and knitting we were hungry every time. Friday nite was all about show and tell, and even included a late entry for halloween.Saturday morning we had a class with Annie Modesitt. She taught beginner chart reading. She also taught cabling without a cable needle. Now I had taught myself how to read charts when I did charlotte. And I taught myself cables just b'c. But Annie taught both of them very well, and gave me new tips on reading charts and doing cables in ways I had not before. It has really improved my knitting. Her way of doing a cable without a needle is so much easier than mine! Thank goodness for Annie. The afternoon was spent on our own until the shopping was set up. I knit some in the room, then some on the porch of the lodge. Then I went in to make my purchases. I was very good and bought exactly what I had planned (with only 2 exceptions). I bought a new spindle. It is heavier and probably better for me to learn on. Bess gave me tips on what to look for when I pick a spindle and it was very helpful. (spin the sindle in the palm of your hand to see if it will spin for you. that way you can see if you like its weight, and the spin.) I really love my new spindle, but I do not know what type it is (tag fell off.) Sue suggested I name it Dr.Op since it is a drop spindle and most likely it will be on the floor alot at the beggining. I'll think about that. I would like to give it a name. I bought the second half of my corset and I got to take it home. Jen's stuff is so amazing I can't even explain to you how nice it is to have the pattern and yarn all together. I want to start it now, but I have to wait until the holidays are over. I also bought a present for the holidays and wandered over to the last shopping stall to give one last look and bought an unplanned book: elisabeth lovold's book 4 sophisticated knits. Really nice stuff I can't wait to make in there. The other purchase that was unplanned happened at the end of the weekend at Jen's trunk show. I bought 5 oz of CVM roving.. but more on that soon.Saturday nite there was a needle felting demo and I was very excited. I planned on buying (and bought) 2 needles each of course, medium and fine felting needles and a felting foam. I did not partake in the demonstration as I arrived late... and well. I wanted a glass of wine and I thought needles and wine should not mix. They made some really cute pumpkins like the patterns in the spin off mag for fall. everyone had fun watching the felting (making fun of the felted heads that reminded me of beetlejuice singing DAY-O!) I got to spin on Amie's Louet, Fiona. I watched spindle demos. I talked with a bunch of people and I knit. Imagine that.Sunday morning. We got to see Bess teach a finishing class. The first thing she taught was how to put a zipper in your knitting. excellent teaching. Very valuable for those of us who make lots of purses for people. then she showed the mattress stitch and the 3 needle bind off. plus the 3 needle with a i-cord bind off. I made my swatches into a little bag and will give it away for a holiday present. She also taught us how to do a single crochet edging. YIPPEE!! I've needed to learn this for a long time now. I still need to leasrn to crochet, but crochet an edging is important. Glad I learned it. Thank you Bess!I think we started getting a little rowdy for Bess, but everyone went home learning the things that they needed to. We had lunch and people started breaking off. I stayed to finally learn to spin from the queen of spindles herself- Bess (thanks again. you are a wonderful teacher), help clean up, visit the trunk show (CVM- needed to get roving know that I know how to spin!!!), and catch my breath before I left. Amie left before me to take Sheila home. She was such a great roomie I have no idea how I didn't start sobbing when she left. I spent a little time with Clara and then we all started piling into our cars. I turned on the radio and the song by Blood Sweat and Tears came on: Spinning wheel got to go 'round. I was elated. The song completely was in tune with what I had been doing,. I drove home feeling much happiness and contentment. What a great weekend.Someone is waiting just for you Spinnin' wheel, spinnin' true Drop all your troubles by the riverside Catch a painted pony on the spinning wheel ride

javascript: void(0);" onclick="this.target = ''; alert('Autor je zabranio komentiranje ovog posta.'); u 12:36 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.

  srpanj, 2009 >
P U S Č P S N
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Siječanj 2010 (1)
Prosinac 2009 (8)
Studeni 2009 (11)
Listopad 2009 (12)
Rujan 2009 (11)
Kolovoz 2009 (13)
Srpanj 2009 (15)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

Opis bloga

ira-saro diary

Linkovi

Dnevnik.hr
Video news portal Nove TV

Blog.hr
Blog servis

Forum.hr
Monitor.hr