< prosinac, 2004 >
P U S Č P S N
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    


Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

Blog description
For my dear friends far far away... a diary of my wonderful life in the lovely country of Croatia.

Explanation to all who wonder why this blog is in English:
my dear friends, to whom I write this instead of e-mails, are not Croatian. They’re from all over the world. So, I write in English, which all of my friends, whether Croatian, or Japanese, of French, or Mexican, can understand.

Links
Noriko's Web Page
Gabi's Work in Progress

Forgot my e-m@il?

The last movie I've seen...
I can't seem to find the time to go see a movie. Or the will. Or the money :).


Alexander the Great

Horrible, horrible movie. Don't go and see it is my honest advice.



The Chronicles of Riddick

What can I say? Vin Diesel. If this were the worst movie in the history of movie making, I’d still love it. But it was quite good, actually. Sort of like Conan in space, but with a much, much hotter guy in the main role. Vin Diesel. Ah, he could make a movie about him walking around in an empty room for two hours doing nothing and I’d think it was the movie of the year :). (oh, and this stays here until I see a new movie with Vinnie boy :)))

The book(s) I'm reading these days...
Right now I've got the new Terry Pratchett - "Monstrus Regiment". It's too serious for a Discworld book so far.

Damn useful!
Don't know what to do with your time? The Internet is a great source of fun and knowledge!

***

Hyperdictionary - the better to understand the English language. Has a dream dictionary too. Great page.

***

Internet Archive - "Universal access to human knowledge" - come here and learn something!

***

Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - the link says it all

***

Sci-Tech Today - latest news from science and technology

***

Internet Movie Database - any movie, any time. On your desk at your disposal.

***

Bored.com - Bored? Click away!

***

21.12.2004., utorak

The cat is sleeping on my lap. Thank god, she's not running around wrecking havoc.

I got a Gmail account – I send you all an e-mail :).
I know it’s silly and I know thousands of people probably have it by now, but I’m very happy I got one. It’s like a really cool Christmas present :). My very own Gmail account :). Yeeey. Me happy :).

It takes so little to make me happy, and so little to bring me down. A wonderful example of that is – music.
I hear a happy song, and my mood is great, I hear a sad song, and I’m sad – it doesn’t matter whether my life circumstances are happy or sad, my mood matches the songs I hear.

But what was I going to talk about… right.

While I was in Split these few days, I was talking to my cousin. She was saying how cute my slippers are (I’ve got a pair of Sylvester the Cat slippers in Split :), very cute), and I was going to say to her – I’ve got an even cuter pair back home. Home. Meaning this apartment, here, in Zagreb. At the last second I changed my mind and said – in Zagreb. I was surprised by the idea that this apartment equals home to me.

I never thought of my places in Dubrovnik as home. Or any other places I lived at. Well, I did think of them as home, but in a way I think of a hotel room as home – home is where my suitcase is. Home is where my clothes are. Home is where I currently happen to sleep. But not anymore, it seems.
It looks as if, without my free will or conscious thinking, this place has become home for me.

You see, home, for me, is not a place, it’s a feeling. A feeling of a place belonging to you and you belonging in that place. A place where you feel safe and comfortable. A place in which you can walk around in your underwear, leave your dishes unwashed, know with your eyes closed where everything is. A place you think of when you’re tired and need to rest. A place you think of when you say the word home. A place you feel as you home.

It’s a bit inexplicable, this feeling, attached to a place and yet completely of your own imagining.

I think it’s the cat that did it for me. I always thought of a home as a place with a fireplace and a cat. Always a cat. Must be a cat. It’s silly, I know.

I may not have a fireplace here, but I do have a cat. And I finally have a place to call home :).

- 13:42 - Comments? (1) - -