10.12.2008., srijeda

(Tannalein) Games and Darkness; dio 2/3

The shrine was a feeble looking little dwelling, its wooden walls bore a burden of too many years. I shifted Miriana in my arms so I could knock on the door.

The woman who opened the door was a young, fragile thing with deep blue eyes that suggested compassion and kindness. She took just a glance of Miriana and opened the door wider, beckoning us in.

The inside of the shrine was all just one room. On the opposite side from the door there was a small cooking stove, on the right the entire wall was covered with shelves congested with books and bottles full of herbs, liquids and powders. It was overcrowded with all sorts of things, most of which I couldn't even recognize. In the middle was a large table piled with books and old parchment, glass bowls and apparatuses the use of which was unknown to me. On the left there was a bed and a cupboard. She motioned towards the bed and I placed Miriana on the sheets.

She gently moved a lock of her hair from her face.

"How long has she been like this?" Her voice was mellow, gentle as the rustling of the leaves in the wind.

"Four days. She collapsed without a reason. I took her to the healer, but she couldn't find what was wrong with her. It's like she's sleeping, but nothing could wake her up."

"You did well to bring her here. The healer can't help her."

"Can you?" I held my breath as I waited for the answer.

She turned her eyes on me for the first time since we came. Her gaze was piercing, and it felt like she was trying to see inside my soul.

"It depends. How far are you willing to go to save her?"

"As far as it takes."

"Good."

"Then you know what's wrong with her?"

She nodded slightly. The grave look on her face made my throat clench.

"She's been touched by Delith."

"Delith? But she didn't do anything!"

"It doesn't matter."

"But I thought... I thought Delith punishes the wicked..."

"Once, maybe. But Gods have changed. They have lived for far too long. They've grown distant from the people. Once they were our protectors, kept us away from harm. Before they accepted our offerings as a sign of affection, now they demand it for even the smallest of favors. They were our guiding light once, but now... Now they bring only darkness. They play these little games with people's lives, like we're only here for their amusement. We're nothing more than pets to them. I've seen so many end up like your wife... So much misery..."

"I had no idea, I thought... But, if it's like that, then why are you still a priestess? Can't you leave?"

Her smile was a sad smile. "If I leave, who would help your wife?"

She walked across the room to the shelf covered wall. From one of the shelves she took a delicate hourglass and handed it to me. She studied me for a moment.

"To save her, you'll have to risk everything."

"I understand."

"Do you? You'll have to beat Delith at her own game."

I took a deep breath. "How do I do that?"

"First you'll have to get her to come to you, and then you'll have to make her lift the curse off your wife. It will be far from easy. You'll have to do exactly as I say. Exactly. And you'll have to be brave. I shall give you three candles."

"Candles?"

"Candles."

She took a thick blue candle off the shelf and handed it to me.

"This blue candle will make her visible to your eyes. Remember, for it to work you must let the scent affect you for some time. It has to burn at least until the hourglass runs out."

She took another candle, a red one this time, but in shape almost identical to the blue one.

"The red one will call her to you. Maybe not the first time you try, but she's curious. She will come."

As she handed me the second candle, she burrowed her hand deep behind the items stored on the shelf and pulled out an ordinary looking white candle, nothing like the blue and red ones she handed me earlier.

"This one," she said as she handed it to me. "This one is the most important one. You can light it first, so it will look as though it's an ordinary candle, lit to provide light. But this candle is far from ordinary. It's made from a specific blend of substances that will make her weak, unable to use her powers. When that happens, you'll be in a position to ask her anything you want. But I must warn you. If you become greedy and ask anything more than yours and your wife's well being, it will bring you nothing but misfortune."

"I won't, believe me, I won't."

"For this candle to have an effect on her, it must burn in Delith's presence for at least until the hourglass runs out again. That means you must keep her entertained for that long."

"But how do I do that?"

"You'll have to use your imagination. Delith likes games."

"I see."

"You'll also have to be very precise with what you ask of her. You must leave her no room to interpret your words in any other way than what you intended. Also, it would be prudent to make her give you her word that no retaliation will be made upon you or your family."

"She will keep her word?"

The priestess nodded.

"She still has some honor left, she'll keep it."

"What about you? Won't she know that you helped me? Won't she be angry?"

She paused for a moment, then started going through the books that lay on the shelves. She pulled out a dusty old book with threadbare covers.

"This book holds a lot about Gods, their personalities, habits, some of their secrets as well. Read it, it will help you learn what you're up against. It doesn't hold the spells for making these candles, but Delith doesn't know that. She doesn't know and doesn't care to learn enough about humans to know how much information each book holds about them. You can say that this was the source of your knowledge."

"But if she doesn't believe me? You'll be in danger."

Her smile was wide, but not much joy was in it. "Don't worry about me. There are still Gods with some kindness and righteousness in them, they'll protect me."

"How could I ever repay you for this?" I bowed to her, but she gently raised me back up.

"Seeing your wife healthy again will be enough." She smiled again, but this time her smile was warm and comforting.

"Take her home now, and remember well everything I've told you. It will be more than just your lives at stake. It will be your souls as well."

"I know. I'll remember. Thank you."

She didn't smile again. She looked towards Miriana and sighed.




Kraj stize uskoro ^_^


<< Arhiva >>

0