Peaceful mind = Peaceful life

18.09.2021., subota

One day someone rang the doorbell.
"Do i interfere?"
"Are you coming to visit without bothering?"
"I know, I'm reluctant to be seen," my guest told me, "but what's left for me is to ring the bell, knock, and say, 'It's time. I have to take one of you, or your wife. You decide.'
"Listen, my friend," I said, "I love my wife too much, and she's looking forward to life so much - if she has to die, take me instead."
“You speak without thinking seriously,” my guest, a friend of Death’s, told me. "The decision is not so simple. Whoever dies has the advantage. He has got rid of all earthly worries. Everything that still bothers you today, the struggle for life, the quarrel with the neighbor, the money you borrowed but did not return, the fear of illness. "it will all disappear with your death."
"That's how you see it," I said, "it's your job to comfort the man you want to take away. As far as I'm concerned, if I'm going to die before my wife, I won't be at an advantage, because I love her."
Death looked at me and said, "Just because you love her, think again. In a happy marriage you've lived in for 45 years, where you've cared for each other, where you've shared everything, there will be the one who stays, harder hit than the one "You're leaving. Don't you believe me? Think about what your wife's life will look like. Her heart is broken because of your departure. She has to live with it. Common worries will only fall on her shoulders. Her life will be hard if you don't stand by her." There is no one to comfort her, to wipe away her tears, to ease her suffering. With whom to share her sorrow? The memory of you will torment her. She will be lonely. Your friends will retire, because who has been friends with both of you, in most cases he doesn't know what to do with just one. , her lips will thin and she will remember what she missed in your life; She never thanked you for taking her as your wife and for being a good husband to her. Unspoken words of love lie on her soul like a lead weight pulling her down and not letting her breathe. Every minute is like an eternity to her. She will talk to the objects around her because there is no one to whom she would open her heart. Later, he will stay in bed longer every day. That's why he should get up. Nobody is waiting for her ... Do you really want to leave her in that pain? "
"Not!" I shouted. "She must not live like that. I love her more than myself. Let me rather live so miserably, and take her in peace. She sleeps upstairs. Take her gently, lest you wake her. Let her open her eyes only before God, lest she she would ask for me if I could do without her. "
Death nodded and walked up the stairs to the room where my wife slept.
“No!” I shouted again. "Leave her to me, or take me! I couldn't bear not to hear her voice anymore, her footsteps in the house. I can't sit alone at the table, I can't lie in bed without hearing her breathing. What joys if she doesn't participates in it: the armchair she preferred to sit on, her coat on the hanger, every shirt I take out of the closet and she washed and ironed it, every sock she patched, even the bench in the church where we knelt and prayed together "How can I bear to look at all this? My mind would be clouded by the thought of missing everything; how many tender words remained unspoken. Why did I read the newspaper so many times, or stare at the television instead of chatting with her, admiring her?" beauty. I have never said to her in recent years: Thank you for being here. Thank you for wanting me for a husband. I have never thanked her for the love, patience, smile with which she greeted me. Now I know the word "my wife", which I have just uttered, that it is the most beautiful word I love he knows the Danish language. Let me go to her one more time before you take her from me, give me three days, three hours, to do at least some of what I have missed for decades ... "
Death came down the stairs and said to me, "I just looked in my diary and found I was mistaken in the house number. You two are written a few pages away. And take the time until then, because when I come again, I won't give you three days, not even three minutes to fix what you've missed in the last 45 years. "



- 14:53 - Komentari (0) - Isprintaj - #

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Nekomercijalno-Bez prerada.