četvrtak, 17.01.2008.

dc traffic

dc traffic


Ive been away way too long. Sorry about that guys. Here what Ive been up to:

  • Bellydancing
  • Samba
  • Hand dancing
  • Salsa
  • Yoga
  • Chiropractic
  • Work (too many hours)
  • Trying to fine tune my whole foods lifestyle
  • Trying to adjust to Katrice and Kwesi abandoning me

So lets take it from the top. After my dad got sick my workout schedule took a dc traffic Instead of going straight to the gym from work, I would go to the hospital to see him. Two weeks off is enough to kill any routine I have established. I am not a creature of habit. It takes time for me to develop a routine. I have to be very intentional about it for it to take hold. If I get off dc traffic its hard for me to get back on track. Now, I enjoy weight lifting and jogging when its nice outside. I like the way they dc traffic me feel but I wouldnt exactly say that I love it. It feels like work. It feels like something extra that I need to do to be healthy, but not like something I love to do that just happens to be a healthy part of my life. So I decided that I need to find a way to get exercise in a way that is less of something else on my to do list and more something on my I cant wait to do list hence, bellydancing, samba, yoga, salsa and hand dancing. And would you believe that I found a place where I can do them all at the same place? I know!!! Me either!!! So, Im thrilled about my little home-away-from home studio. Its a place that teaches a holistic, naturopathic approach to caring for oneself. It teaches the ancient healing benefits of the different dances and disciplines and encourages a healthy, whole foods lifestyle. Its a place where one can pursue the mind, body, spirit connection with like-minded people who are, by the way, working out and having a good time. Yay!!! I spend lots of time there and get really annoyed when I have to work late and miss my classes. Which brings me to the next thing Ive been up to.

Work. One morning at about 3am, while sitting on my couch still working, I realized that at some point I lost my boundary concerning home and work. I have notoriously managed this boundary very well. If I need to stay a little later dc traffic get in a little earlier to get things done, Ill do that, but home is supposed to be my sacred space. No work here!! I lost sight of that recently and I need to find my way back to prioritizing my life appropriately. The thing is I enjoy my job and dont mind doing the things I was working on, I just need to keep it out of my sacred space. Ill figure it out in the dc traffic weeks&with help. Ill tell you about that soon.

Chiropractic. I never dc traffic thought of my chiropractor and massage therapist as holistic healers until this weekend. I noticed that western medicine isnt big on referring people to chiropractors or massage therapists. They rather send you to physical therapy. dc traffic concluded that taking care of my body is more than considering it in isolation from the rest of me and therefore I choose to exhaust alternative medicine before I turn to my physician. Ive been having crazy neck and shoulder pain. I know its stress and the position of my monitor and spending too much time working and using my laptop on my couch and all this other dumb dc traffic Im doing to myself. But I needed it fixed. I had options. I went to my massage therapist first. 90 minutes of pure ecstasy, I tell you. I could have married that woman! I felt like she worked out a lot of the tension, but quickly realized that I was just out of alignment. Off to the chiropractor and when I tell you I almost kissed that man when he hammered my little neck vertebrae back where they belong I am not kidding you. dont know how long I was out of alignment, but my weekend was so much better having had things put back where they belong. I still have major neck problems that will take 3 months of aggressive treatment to fix, Im good for now. Unfortunately, my freaking commute to work makes it almost impossible for me to take the time I need to go get fixed. My work and chiropractors hours are not compatible and my chiropractor is about 20 miles from work (which in DC traffic time means 1 hour away). Even when I tried to schedule appointments this week I had to cancel because of last dc traffic meetings. Ive got to figure this out. Dont fuss at me. Ill get it together.

My whole foods lifestyle. Trader Joes has finally moved to my neighborhood!!! My local organic market is as expensive as, if not more expensive than, Whole Foods. dc traffic so dc traffic to see TJs open up just up the road. I could stop by the TJs close to my old job on the way home from work, but now I dont come near the place. I bought groceries this weekend and got double the stuff I can get at my local organic spot for half the price. I cant get everything I need at TJs, but Im saving money so that I can finance my dance habit. Good stuff!! I have had some ups and downs with trying to eat well. I still havent touched fast food or meat in 5 months, but football season has had me jonesing hard for chips and dip and beer on Sunday afternoons at 1pm. Id make a meal of it, I tell you. Im over it though. I think.

And last but not least, Katrice and have moved to Texas. :( I was such a wuss that I left a note on their car to say goodbye. I couldnt bear doing it face to face. Well, they showed me. They conveniently didnt leave while I was at work that day. I got home from work just in to watch them pack the things in the car and drive away&.all the way across the country. I still look dc traffic their cars when I come home from work. It sucks. BUT, Im going to see them December 6-9, for the 1st Annual Corny Convention in Dallas. wait. I miss them already.

And, since this post isnt as long as I thought it would be ;) , Ill tell you about figuring things out in the coming weeks with help. My new theme for self is, when I know better, I do better. I am learning a lot about other cultures, spiritual disciplines and ways of life through my quest to re-evaluate my belief system. In the process I have learned a lot of things that make more sense to dc traffic and feel more right for me than the norms of the culture to which I was born. I came across this passage in a book I am reading. It says it best:

We are all subjectsand victimsof our time and our perspective in history. Truth, or our perception of it, is a function of our limited, culture-bound understanding and is often as fluid as a change in custom&The best we can hope to do is rise above our culture as much as possible to see our biases, challenge them, and willingly allow our view of the world to shatter as our biases knuckle under the blows of scrutiny.

This is what this blog has dc traffic been about. I am re-thinking everything at once. It is so exciting and fun. I feel free of the guilt that came with shaking off the norms of the Christian community that guided my life for so long and now I feel like I can judge each new idea on its own merits. It has taken some time for the Christian voice in my heard to quiet so that I can think through some of these new ideas. But Im far enough away from that voice now that I can evaluate new things for what they are and not what Christians say they are. Does that make sense? It makes dc traffic sense to me. I may need to rework that sentence when I edit. Anyway, Ive hired a holistic health consultant to help me articulate my goals for this journey, create a plan to meet those goals and to teach me more about my body and the foods, drinks, etc. that are best for my optimal health (mind, body and spirit). It should be fun. I start on the 13th. Ill let you know how it goes. I might be writing about all of dc traffic more on Fine Tuning, but who knows. The more I see the connections between mind, body and spirit, the less dc traffic a need for 3 blogs. Im realizing that I cant separate these things as neatly as I once thought. Im considering a merge. Who knows? Well see. Maybe Ill just feed content between the blogs when its relevant.

So thats what Ive been up to. Ill be catching up with you guys soon.

Any thoughts on any of this stuff? What do you think about that quote?



Popular topics today: golfweek, veronica conte, mike golic, wtop, man in the moon, wbal, fairfax county public schools, christina laurean, baltimore traffic, steve harvey, buynowbe

- 23:39 - Komentari (0) - Isprintaj - #

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.