Photobucket

petak, 08.02.2008.

Grand Buffet

I was waiting for this day to come since I got here! Grand buffet is, as the word says, a buffet that represents most of the kitchens and bakeshops in my school. It is held at the end of each block (every 3 weeks) in our dining room. I have to say that the highlight of the whole buffet was the bread. Seriously, that is my favourite part. Oh sorry, forgot the desserts...They are always interesting to see, but this time the sugar work caught my attention. Big time.
As you can see on the photo below, this is some pretty nice work, don't you think? I will be in sugar work very soon and that's something I am really looking foward to! :)

School is going well so far, very demanding though. I am half way through L block right now and I passed one exam today which is restaurant Law, the hardest subject I had so far! I still can't believe it.
Other then that, I am learning a lot, and all of this is, and will be very beneficial to my future career. Right now I have a task for the Menu class to create 24-item dessert menu which is fun to do, but with maaaany rules to follow. It is unbelieveable how little mistakes in the menu presentation can change comepletly the customer's point of view.

I am off to bed now, tomorrow's the Nutrition mid term exam and another quiz from Purchasing food and controlling costs, so.....Wish me luck! ;)

Photobucket

Photobucket
A little part from the bread selection

Photobucket
Bread decor

Photobucket
One of the many desserts I tried - the coconut mousse with addition of banana and pineapple; great presentation!
p.s - the cup is out of chocolate ;)




- 04:43 - Comments (9) - Isprintaj - #