Photobucket

nedjelja, 06.01.2008.

My Sacher torte discovery

I have finally asked my Chef to tell me the ''truth'' he knows about the Sacher torte. The Demel story behind it goes like this....
Franz Sacher, a 16 yearl old apprentice cook created this cake for the Austrian State Chancellor, because the head Chef was sick and other cooks had no idea what to prepare. And that was when the first Sacher torte was created.
After Franz Sacher's death, his son Eduard Sacher, who was at the same time the last heir of the Sacher family, did his apprenticeship at Demel :)) And there, I mean HERE, he further developed the Sacher torte and Demel accepted it and started producing it. When he left Demel he opened the Sacher Hotel where they served the Sacher torte as their specialty and since it was made at Demel as well, the revolt begun. After many years at court, Sacher won against Demel.
That's how I learned the story about the Sacher torte.


Photobucket
Demel's Sacher torte

- 22:19 - Comments (7) - Isprintaj - #