...kingdom by the sea...

utorak, 21.11.2006.

billie...lady day

"Them thats got shall get
Them thats not shall lose
So the Bible said and it still is news
Mama may have, papa may have
But God bless the child thats got his own
Thats got his own"

to je nekad pjevala billie holiday...pjevačica iznimnog glasa i talenta...
rođena je 7.4.1915. u Philly-u, umrla je 17.7.1959. - puno prebrzo...
1994. američka poštanska služba izdala je osam poštanskih markica na kojima je bilo 8 najvećih jazz i blues pjevača ikad...billie je bila jedna od njih...
neki ju nazivaju najvećih ženskim vokalom svoh vremena...jebeš madonne, britnyce, christine, nellye, rihanne i bogtepitaj koje još ove puckice i žene...ONA je glas...a kad ju staviš s Ellom Fitzgerald...huuuuh
iako je imala jaaaaaaaaaaaako sfackani život, pjevala je kak anđel...

ovo su njezine riječi:
" I can't stand to sing the same song the same way two nights in succession, let alone two years or ten years. If you can, then it ain't music, it's close-order drill or exercise or yodeling or something, not music."
“Somebody once said we never know what is enough until we know what's more than enough.”
“Don't threaten me with love, baby. Let's just go walking in the rain”
“Love is like a faucet, it turns off and on.”
"If I'm going to sing like someone else, then I don't need to sing at all."
"A kiss that is never tasted, is forever wasted."
"Dope never helped anybody sing better or play music better or do anything better. All dope can do for you is kill you - and kill you the long, slow, hard way."
"I hate straight singing. I have to change a tune to my own way of doing it. That's all I know."
"In this country, don't forget, a habit is no damn private hell. There's no solitary confienment outside of jail. A habit is hell for those you love. And in this country, it's the worst kind of hell for those who love you."
"If I don't have friends, then I ain't nothing."
"If you think dope is for kicks and for thrills, you're out of your mind. There are more kicks to be had in a good case of paralytic polio or by living in an iron lung."
"I'm always making a comeback but nobody ever tells me where I've been. "
"I never had a chance to play with dolls like other kids. I started working when I was six years old."
"Mom & Pop were just a couple of kids when they got married. He was eighteen, she was sixteen and I was three."
"Singing songs like 'The Man I Love' or 'Porgy' is no more work than sitting down and eating Chinese roast duck, and I love roast duck."
"Somebody once said we never know what is enough until we know what's more than enough."
"Sometimes it's worse to win a fight than to lose."
"You can be up to your boobies in white satin, with gardenias in your hair and no sugar cane for miles, but you can still be working on a plantation."
"You can't copy anybody and end with anything. If you copy, it means you're working without any real feeling. No two people on earth are alike, and it's got to be that way in music or it isn't music."
"You've got to have something to eat and a little love in your life before you can hold still for any damn body's sermon on how to behave."



ako vas još kaj zanima o billie, imate google...najdite si...i ak imate priliku dajte si najdite neku njenu muziku...mislim da bu vam se sviđala...

21.11.2006. u 21:28 • 2 KomentaraPrint#

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.

  studeni, 2006 >
P U S Č P S N
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      

Prosinac 2006 (4)
Studeni 2006 (3)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

Opis bloga

Linkovi