Pregled posta

Adresa bloga:


Janis Joplin - The Essential (2CD Remaster 2003)

While generally considered to be one-third of the tragic troika of late-'60s rock -- along with Jim Morrison and Jimi Hendrix -- Janis Joplin has never been the subject of the extensive vault raiding that followed the deaths of her contemporaries. This well-paced two-disc set doesn't extend far beyond what most fans already know, although the previously unreleased live (at Woodstock) versions of "To Love Somebody" and "Kozmic Blues" do burn appropriately red-hot and cool. The collection's compilers have, however, done a nice job of remastering the classic recordings, punching up Joplin's remarkable voice without casting an artificial sheen over the top. That's particularly evident on the live material -- highlighted by poignant takes on "Flower in the Sun" and "Farewell Song" -- but also on the studio takes of lesser-known songs like "Women Is Losers" and "A Woman Left Lonely." Essential's 30 songs comprise tracks recorded during Joplin's stint with Big Brother & the Holding Company, as well as solo material; among them are her most widely heard songs, from the easygoing "Mercedes-Benz" to the rough-hewn "Piece of My Heart" to that shiver-inducing cover of "Summertime." It's a perfect way to celebrate what would've been Joplin's 60th birthday, and a nice kickoff to what Legacy promises will be an extensive reissue campaign. David Sprague

Codec: flac
Size: 750 MB
Genre : Rock


CD 1

01 Down on Me 2:06
02 Coo Coo 1:58
03 Women Is Losers 2:04
04 Bye, Bye Baby 2:38
05 Ball and Chain Live 8:04
06 Roadblock 5:32
07 Piece of My Heart 4:15
08 Misery'n 4:10
09 I Need a Man to Love 4:53
10 Summertime 3:59
11 Flower in the Sun Live 3:11
12 Farewell Song Live 4:58
13 Raise Your Hand Live 2:27
14 To Love Somebody Live 5:14
15 Kozmic Blues Live 7:37

CD 2

01 Try (Just a Little Bit Harder) 3:57
02 Maybe 3:40
03 One Good Man 4:10
04 Little Girl Blue 3:50
05 Work Me, Lord 6:37
06 Tell Mama Live 6:39
07 Move Over 3:41
08 Cry Baby 3:57
09 A Woman Left Lonely 3:28
10 Half Moon 3:52
11 My Baby 3:44
12 Me and Bobby McGee 4:30
13 Mercedes Benz 1:47
14 Trust Me previously unreleased 3:16
15 Get It While You Can previously unreleased 3:23
16 Mercedes Benz - Bonus Live Remix 3:45

Post je objavljen 08.11.2010. u 17:00 sati.