Pregled posta

Adresa bloga:


Y&T - Earthshaker (1981)(Remaster 2008)

2008 digitally remastered edition of the first album by this San Francisco Hard Rock/Metal band under their Y&T moniker (they were previously known as Yesterday & Today). Along with a handful of bands that would need no introduction to Heavy Metal fans the world over, Y&T did more than their fair share to make the '80s the all conquering decade that it so obviously was for Hard Rock. This 1981 album was the first of a blistering salvo of releases that set the bench mark high - almost too high! - for those that dared to follow. Earthshaker is a solid gold hard rockin' classic that sees its first time release on CD here in a digitally remastered for that guarantees that it sounds better than it ever has. Time to dust off that air guitar and throw some shapes!

1981's Earthshaker is the only unanimous moment of Y&T's lengthy career. The only studio album that came close to capturing the power and energy of the San Francisco quartet's legendary concerts onto disc, the band's third L.P. was their first for new label A&M, and the first to see their original moniker Yesterday & Today shortened to its better-known incarnation. Vein-busting metal anthems like "Hurricane" and "Knock You Out" boast a menacing swagger not seen before or since, and, even though they slow things down just a bit, melodic hard rockers like "Let Me Go" and the classic "Rescue Me" never waver in intensity or purpose. Admittedly, a few of the mid-paced rockers ("Hungry for Rock," "Young and Tough") have not aged all that well, but in the manic "Squeeze," bassist Phil Kennemore takes over lead vocals so that regular frontman Dave Meniketti can deliver one of the most passionate, over-the-top lead guitar performances of his career. And Y&T save the best for last, climaxing with their signature power ballad, the dramatic "I Believe in You" -- easily one of the decade's best examples of the style, bar none. Simply put, Earthshaker is a virtual force of nature, and its no wonder Y&T found it an impossible act to follow...E. Rivadavia

Codec: mp3
Size: 95 MB
Genre : Rock


01 Hungry for Rock 3:48
02 Dirty Girl 5:09
03 Shake It Loose 2:57
04 Squeeze 4:06
05 Rescue Me 4:47
06 Young and Tough 3:49
07 Hurricane 3:26
08 Let Me Go 3:14
09 Knock You Out 3:01
10 I Believe in You 7:15

Post je objavljen 20.05.2010. u 23:56 sati.