Pregled posta

Adresa bloga:


Dire Straits - Sultans Of Swing: The Very Best Of...( 2CD Limited Edition 1998)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Limited edition UK reissue of 1998 'best of' collection includes a bonus CD featuring seven live tracks, 'Calling Elvis' , 'Walk Of Life', 'Last Exit To Brooklyn', 'Romeo & Juliet ', 'Sultans Of Swing', 'Brothers In Arms', & 'Money For Nothing'. Slimline double jewel case.

Exactly ten years after Dire Straits' first compilation, Money for Nothing, appeared in the stores, their second, Sultans of Swing: The Very Best of Dire Straits, was released. Though a decade is a significant span of time, Dire Straits had released just two subsequent albums -- 1991's On Every Street and 1993's On the Night, a live album culled from tapes of the record's supporting tour. Not quite enough material for a new greatest-hits album, but it had been years since Dire Straits had released an album of any sort (a compilation of BBC sessions snuck into the stores in 1995) -- hence the birth of Sultans of Swing. Unsurprisingly, it covers much of the same ground as Money for Nothing, containing all the essentials ("Sultans of Swing," "Romeo and Juliet," "Tunnel of Love," "Private Investigations," "Twisting by the Pool," "Money for Nothing," "Brothers in Arms," "Walk of Life"), with the exception of "Telegraph Road," which was left on the earlier compilation. A live "Love Over Gold," "Lady Writer" and "So Far Away" replace "Down to the Waterline," "Where Do You Think You're Going" and a live "Portobello Belle," which is really just a trade-off, since they're all equal in quality. Then there are the three hits from On Every Street ("Calling Elvis," "Heavy Fuel," "On Every Street"), all of which are pleasant recreations of the Brothers in Arms sound; a live version of "Your Latest Trick" from On the Night, and, inexplicably, Mark Knopfler's "Wild Theme (Theme from Local Hero)." Fine tunes all, but none of them are reason enough to replace Money for Nothing with Sultans of Swing. For casual fans or curious listeners looking for an introduction/sampler, it's the better choice, simply because it covers more ground and contains more music while remaining quite listenable and entertaining...S. T. Erlewine

Codec: mp3
Bitrate: 320 kB/s
Size: 302 MB
Genre : Rock


CD 1

01 Sultans of Swing 5:45
02 Lady Writer 3:39
03 Romeo and Juliet 5:51
04 Tunnel of Love 8:07
05 Private Investigations 5:45
06 Twisting by the Pool 3:30
07 Love over Gold Live 3:27
08 So Far Away 4:02
09 Money for Nothing 4:05
10 Brothers in Arms 4:56
11 Walk of Life 4:07
12 Calling Elvis 4:37
13 Heavy Fuel 4:54
14 On Every Street 4:34
15 Your Latest Trick (Live) 6:29
16 Local Hero/Wild Theme (Live) 4:19

CD 2 - Live At The Royal Albert Hall

01 Calling Elvis 9:05
02 Walk Of Life 5:29
03 Last Exit To Brooklyn 2:23
04 Romeo And Juliet 7:31
05 Sultans Of Swing 13:14
06 Brothers In Arms 8:55
07 Money For Nothing 6:37

Post je objavljen 05.05.2010. u 00:26 sati.