Pregled posta

Adresa bloga:


Sly & The Family Stone – Anthology (1981)

Image Hosted by

Anthology essentially replicates the previous collection Greatest Hits and adds singles from There’s a Riot Goin’ On and Fresh to the end of the album. Where Greatest Hits didn’t follow chronological order, Anthology presents every single in the order it was released — and, with the exception of the latter-day singles and the inclusion of “Don’t Call Me Nigger, Whitey,” that is the major difference between the two collections. Anthology goes for a sweeping, definitive overview, while Greatest Hits is a brief blast of 12 of the finest singles of the rock & roll era. Either compilation functions as an excellent introduction, but Anthology is more comprehensive, giving it the edge as a first purchase. (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG)

01. Dance to the Music
02. M’Lady
03. Life
04. Fun
05. Sing a Simple Song
06. Everyday People
07. Stand!
08. I Want to Take You Higher
09. Don’t Call Me Nigger, Whitey
10. You Can Make It If You Try
11. Hot Fun in the Summertime
12. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)
13. Everybody Is a Star
14. Family Affair
15. Runnin’ Away
16. (You Caught Me) Smilin’
17. Thank You for Talkin’ to Me Africa
18. Babies Makin’ Babies
19. If You Want Me to Stay
20. Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be)

pass: soulfunkjazzsblog

Post je objavljen 11.08.2009. u 23:05 sati.