Guest Grace Elliot

utorak , 20.07.2021.

Please welcome my guest Grace Elliot as she wraps up her fabulous book tour for Hope's Betrayal, book #2 in the Huntley Trilogy! Grace is here to talk about finding something to read. Welcome Grace!

How Do You Find Your Next Read?

Hi there, and a big thank you to Kat for hosting me. I've had such fun, visiting so many different blogs, soaking up their style and chatting about books. I love it when people leave comments, it's an honour to hear what readers are thinking. So, I thought it might be fun on my last stop to chat about how you find your next great read.

I vividly remember seeing a poster for the first eReader (a Sony 550). I was sooooo excited! As an avid bookworm it seemed the answer to the piles of books that line the walls of my bedroom like wallpaper. Luckily my husband took the hint (perhaps he was thinking we might have more room!) and gave me the Sony as a birthday present. In those days (hmm, three, maybe four years ago?) there were relatively few eBook retailers and the choice of books was limited. So I searched for classics by Dickens and Austen, and my favourite authors such as Gaelen Foley and Lisa Kleypas. In short, I tried to transfer my DTB (Dead tree book) library onto an electronic device - but without discovering new authors.

But with the revolution brought by Kindles and Kobos, the wonderful world of Indie books opened up. Now I browse the category lists on Amazon, pick up a book buzz on facebook or read excerpts via twitter. Perhaps I see a great cover, or a banner catches my eye - then it's just a click to investigate further, and another click to download. And the result? I've made some truly great finds; authors with fresh new voices and very different stories to tell - so much so, that for me, traditional published books can seem safe and uninspiring.

Which brings me back to my original question - how do you find your next great read? What makes you take a risk on a new author? Please leave a comment - I'd love to know.

*****

Hope's Betrayal (#2 The Huntley Trilogy.)


One wild, winter's night two worlds collide.

Known for his ruthless efficiency, Captain George Huntley is sent to stamp out smuggling on the south coast of England. On a night raid, the Captain captures a smuggler, but finds his troubles are just beginning when the lad turns out to be a lass, Hope Tyler.

With Hope as bait, the Captain sets a trap to catch the rest of the gang. But in a battle of wills, with his reputation at stake, George Huntley starts to respect feisty, independent Hope. Challenged by her sea-green eyes and stubborn loyalty Huntley now faces a new threat - his growing attraction to a sworn enemy. But a love where either Hope betrays her own kind, or Captain Huntley is court-marshaled, is not an easy destiny to follow.

Kat's Review of Hope's Betrayal

If you love historicals especially the Regency Era, Hope's Betrayal is a story you will enjoy. This rich story gives a view of the time period from a different perspective than the usual, that of the minor gentry, people who generally live outside of the highly-social ton. But that is not where the perspective ends. The story premise concerns the issue of smuggling and explores it from the desperate acts of smugglers who smuggle to survive to the wealthy people who are able to purchase smuggled goods at reasonable prices. Despite the premise, the story is not one of edge-of-the-seat tension, although there are scenes that are intense. The main enjoyment of this story is the thorough development of each character. Ms. Elliot has developed wonderful characters who care deeply about the people around them and who willingly sacrifice their own desires to do what is right. You will root for them especially when they make decisions that prevent their own happiness. The dialogue is also wonderful and brings out the sense of the period in delightful ways. This is a book that you should take your time with, to savor every scene and drink in the deep passions of the characters as they are forced to shake off their initial perspectives and live with the circumstances that are forced upon them by society. This was my first taste of the Huntley Trilogy and I'm intrigued enough to head off to get a copy of the first book and see what else Ms. Elliot has written. I'm also looking forward to the final book of the trilogy.

Buy a copy of Hope's Betrayal today!

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Smashwords

Kobo

Author Bio.

Grace Elliot leads a double life as a veterinarian by day and author of historical romance by night. Grace believes intelligent people need to read romance as an antidote to the modern world. As an avid reader of historicals she turned to writing as a release from the emotionally draining side of veterinary work.

Grace lives near London and is addicted to cats. The Elliot household consists of five cats, two teenage sons, one husband, a guinea pig - and the latest addition - a bearded dragon!

Oznake: guest, reading, partner, Writing, blog, interview

<< Arhiva >>

Creative Commons License
Ovaj blog je ustupljen pod Creative Commons licencom Imenovanje-Dijeli pod istim uvjetima.