PHIL SPECTOR [RIP] - Back to Mono [1958–1969] (1991)

Back to Mono (1958–1969) is a box set (4 compact discs or 5 vinyl LPs) compilation of the recorded work of record producer Phil Spector, through the 1960s, released in 1991 by ABKCO. The first track, "To Know Him Is to Love Him," released in 1958, features Spector performing as part of the group the Teddy Bears. Initially a vinyl album-sized package, the box contained a booklet with photographs, complete song lyrics, discographical information, and a reproduction of the essay on Spector by Tom Wolfe, "The First Tycoon of Teen." The package also contained a small, round, red "Back to Mono" pin. Back to Mono surveys recordings leading up to and featuring the Wall of Sound, Spector's famed production trademark. Starting with "He's A Rebel" on disc one, through "I'll Never Need More Than This" and including disc four, all of the musical arrangements are by Jack Nitzsche. The list of musicians contributing to the tracks number in the hundreds, but prominent among them are Brian Wilson, Hal Blaine, Sonny Bono, Red Callender, Glen Campbell, Al DeLory, Steve Douglas, Jim Gordon, Jim Horn, Carol Kaye, Barney Kessel, Larry Knechtel, Jay Migliori, Ray Pohlman, Don Randi, Lyle Ritz, Billy Strange, Tommy Tedesco, Bill Pitman, and Nino Tempo. The set collects every single produced by Spector and issued on the Philles label, with the exception of Philles 132, "White Cliffs of Dover" by The Righteous Brothers, which did not chart. Of the catalogue items Philles 100 through 136, the set omits: Philles 101, 103, and 104, produced by Spector's early business partner and label namesake, Lester Sill; Philles 133, produced by Jeff Barry, although its B-side produced by Spector, "When I Saw You," does appear; and Philles 134, produced by Bob Crewe. Philles 105, withdrawn initially in 1962 owing to its controversial subject matter, has also been included. Both "Walking in the Rain" by The Ronettes and "Stumble and Fall" by Darlene Love are listed in most discographies, including the box booklet, as Philles 123. The single "Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)," initially released in 1963 as Philles 119, was re-released the following year as Philles 125 with a different B-side, and did not chart either year. Philles 134 through 136 were not released in the United States; however, there are DJ promo pressings of 136. In addition to the Philles singles catalogue, the first three discs present Spector productions for other labels, various unreleased material, and two album tracks from Presenting the Fabulous Ronettes featuring Veronica, Philles 4006, and one from River Deep - Mountain High, London HAU 8298 (unreleased Philles 4011). Spector created additional imprints for specific projects, such as the Phil Spector label to promote the solo career of Veronica "Ronnie" Bennett of the Ronettes, the future Mrs. Spector. Some of those items also appear on these discs. The fourth disc contains the entirety of the holiday album released on the same day as the JFK assassination, A Christmas Gift for You, purportedly the only long-playing album from his Philles heyday that Spector worked on with the same intensity that he generally lavished on the singles. It peaked at #13 on the Christmas Albums chart in 1963, although a reissue in 1972 went to #6. In 2003, the album was ranked #64 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time (#65 on revised 2012 list and #489 on the revised 2020 list).




01. To Know Him Is To Love Him - (with The Teddy Bears)
02. Corrine, Corrina - (with Ray Peterson)
03. Spanish Harlem - (with Ben E. King)
04. Pretty Little Angel Eyes - (with Curtis Lee)
05. Every Breath I Take - (with Gene Pitney)
06. I Love How You Love Me - (with The Paris Sisters)
07. Under The Moon Of Love - (with Curtis Lee)
08. There's No Other Like My Baby - (with The Crystals)
09. Uptown - (with The Crystals)
10. He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss) - (with The Crystals)
11. He's A Rebel - (with The Crystals)
12. Zip-A-Dee-Do-Dah - (with Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans)
13. Puddin' N' Tain - (with The Alley Cats)
14. He's Sure The Boy I Love - (with The Crystals)
15. Why Do Lovers Break Each Others Hearts - (with Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans)
16. Boy I'm Gonna Marry, The (Today I Met) - (with Darlene Love)
17. Da Doo Ron Ron - (with The Crystals)
18. Heartbreaker - (with The Crystals)
19. Why Don't Let Us Fall In Love - (with Veronica)
20. Chapel Of Love - (with Darlene Love)
21. Not Too Young To Get Married - (with Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans)
22. Wait Til My Bobby Gets Home - (with Darlene Love)
23. All Grown Up - (with The Crystals)

01. Be My Baby - (with The Ronettes)
02. Then He Kissed Me - (with The Crystals)
03. Fine, Fine Boy, A - (with Darlene Love)
04. Baby, I Love You - (with The Ronettes)
05. I Wonder - (with The Ronettes)
06. Girls Can Tell - (with The Crystals)
07. Little Boy - (with The Crystals)
08. Hold Me Tight - (with The Treasures)
09. Breakin' Up, (The Best Part Of) - (with The Ronettes)
10. Soldier Baby Of Mine - (with The Ronettes)
11. Strange Love - (with Darlene Love)
12. Stumble And Fall - (with Darlene Love)
13. When I Saw You - (with The Ronettes)
14. So Young - (with Veronica)
15. Do I Love You? - (with The Ronettes)
16. Keep On Dancing - (with The Ronettes)
17. You, Baby - (with The Ronettes)
18. Woman In Love (With You) - (with The Ronettes)
19. Walking In The Rain - (with The Ronettes)

01. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' - (with The Righteous Brothers)
02. Born To Be Together - (with The Ronettes)
03. Just Once In My Life - (with The Righteous Brothers)
04. Unchained Melody - (with The Righteous Brothers)
05. Is This What I Get For Loving You? - (with The Ronettes)
06. Long Way To Be Happy - (with Darlene Love)
07. For Sentimental Reasons, (I Love You) - (with The Righteous Brothers)
08. Ebb Tide - (with The Righteous Brothers)
09. This Could Be The Night - (with The Modern Folk Quartet)
10. Paradise - (with The Ronettes)
11. River Deep-Mountain High - (with Ike & Tina Turner)
12. I'll Never Need More Than This - (with Ike & Tina Turner)
13. Love Like Yours, A (Don't Come Knockin' Everyday) - (with Ike & Tina Turner)
14. Save The Last Dance For Me - (with Ike & Tina Turner)
15. I Wish I Never Saw The Sunshine - (with The Ronettes)
16. You Came, You Saw, You Conquered - (with The Ronettes)
17. Black Pearl - (with Sonny Charles & The Checkmates)
18. Love Is All I Have To Give - (with The Checkmates)

01. White Christmas - (with Darlene Love)
02. Frosty The Snowman - (with The Ronnettes)
03. Bells Of St. Mary, The - (with Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans)
04. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - (with The Crystals)
05. Sleigh Ride - (with The Ronnettes)
06. Marshmallow World - (with Darlene Love)
07. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus - (with Ronnettes)
08. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer - (with The Crystals)
09. Winter Wonderland - (with Darlene Love)
10. Parade Of The Wooden Soldiers - (with The Crystals)
11. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) - (with Darlene Love)
12. Here Comes Santa Claus - (with Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans)
13. Silent Night - (with Phil Spector & Artists)

18.01.2021. u 10:02 • 6 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

......Be responsible!.....


DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com