SWEET - Action: The Ultimate Story (2015)

In commemoration of the 45th anniversary of guitarist Andy Scott joining Brian Connolly (vocals), Steve Priest (vocals/bass guitar) and Mick Tucker (vocals/drums) in The Sweet, this two-disc collection generally provides an excellent appraisal of the British glam-rock giants, a band that forever strled to reconcile its disposable pop-star image with its members' clearly gifted abilities as musicians. Sure all of the hits (bar 'Alexander Graham Bell') are here, from the pure bubblegum of 'Funny Funny' and 'Co-Co' to the mighty 1973 trilogy of 'Blockbuster!', 'Hell Raiser' and 'The Ballroom Blitz', but so too is a selection of choice album cuts like the Deep Purple-esque 'Set Me Free' and 'Into The Night', '4th July' and 'Windy City', together with the quartet's own excellent self-penned singles such as 'Fox On The Run' and 'Love Is Like Oxygen' - both of which proved that the band could survive without the guiding hands of song writers Nicky Chinn and Mike Chapman and erstwhile producer Phil Wainman. Informative sleeve notes from uber-fan Dave Ling of ‘Classic Rock’ and pictures of the band’s varying line-ups makes for a must have for new and existing fans. The Sweet may have had a relatively short singles chart success in the UK between 1971-75, however their songs still sound great today and carry on winning over a whole new set of fans.





17.01.2020. u 10:52 • 1 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com