orbinjuz

subota, 29.09.2007.

Did you steal something? Please pay the taxes on it!

In a few months I will have to fill out my US taxes (IRS) forms for the year 2007 and the salary I received while I was there. Other than the usual things what you have to report and pay taxes on, and what's deductible, there's one fun fact. If you steal something, you should report it to the IRS and pay taxes on it! rofl I wonder if there has been an instance where someone stole a car and reported it to the IRS.... here's an excerpt from the IRS tax laws showing this tidbit:

29.09.2007. u 18:24 • 3 KomentaraPrint#

četvrtak, 27.09.2007.

Melancholy...

... depicting this rainy day in Zagreb...

The song is from Showtime's "Californication"... "Don't let us get sick" by Pat Guadagno:


Don't let us get sick
Don't let us get old
Don't let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And let us play nice
And let us be together tonight

The sky was on fire
When I walked to the mill
To take up the slack in my line
I thought of my friends
And the troubles they've had
To make me forget about mine

Don't let us get sick
Don't let us get old
Don't let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And let us play nice
And let us be together tonight

The moon has a face
And it shines on the lake
And causes the ripples in time
I'm lucky to be here
With people I like
Who causeth my spirit to shine

Don't let us get sick
Don't let us get old
Don't let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And let us play nice
And let us be together tonight

27.09.2007. u 11:22 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

srijeda, 26.09.2007.

Ride the S.L.U.T.

Laughing 2 I almost fell off my chair... I saw an article in The Seattle Times with the title "Seattle's 'S.L.U.T.' just a trolley ride". I know Seattle is a liberal city, but I thought that was pushing the limits. As it turns out, SLUT is an acronym for the new public transport located on the south side of the lake Union. That part of the city (very close to downtown) is practically owned by Paul Allen who donated a huge chunk of money for a streetcar in that part of the town. The streetcar's name is "South Lake Union Trolley" and its acronym seems to have escaped the officials and is here to stay.

So, next time you're in Seattle, don't miss to ride the SLUT (it's certainly on my to-do list!)! Laughing 2

More on the topic (incl. some news videos):
CNN
King5 News
SeattlePi
RideTheSLUT T-shirts

26.09.2007. u 12:27 • 4 KomentaraPrint#

ponedjeljak, 17.09.2007.

Uh, propustih...

... prvi zagrebacki fotomaraton... tuzan Vidim da su imali cool teme, a bilo bi vrijeme da se opet upali moj fotic i da ja protegnem noge po "zraku" (OK, OK, ima malo i smoga, al' navikla sam na to).

Pitanjce svima koji znaju za neke foto-klubove - postoje li u ZG (a da se ljudi javljaju na navedene emailove i/ili br. telefona)? Organizira li se stogod? Imate pri ruci URL tih klubova? Thnx!

17.09.2007. u 15:35 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

nedjelja, 16.09.2007.

It was bound to happen... conjunctivitis

After years of staring into books and computer monitors, and being lucky not to have any consequences until now, it hit me... and hit me hard. I've been diagnosed with keratoconjunctivitis sicca which is usually caused by dryness of the eye (in my case, the dryness comes from staring at the computer screen for too many hours per day (it's not viral)). It's an inflammation of both cornea and conjunctiva. Lucky me... I was also told that I might have a growth in the right eye right next to the iris which gets inflamed and that's what causes this conjunctivitis. Apparently anyone who works behind the computer screen for more than 4hr per day is at risk (you know who you are! If you can, cut down on it...)

Anyway, I've been having these symptoms (redness, worsened sight in that eye, blurry vision during the inflammation periods) for several months, but they've gotten worse in the past 3 weeks. The eye drops (Systane) and some protective glasses helped a little bit for a few days. I can't use other drops (Maxidex) I was given for the inflammation because I'm allergic to some ingredient in them. Tomorrow morning I'm going to see a private ophthalmologist to get a second opinion. The conjunctivitis is back again, and I can be behind the monitor/tv/book in total up to 1-2hrs per day. This is TERRIBLE timing too! I'm working on the dissertation revisions and I need a stretch of working behind the computer for more than 2-3 hrs!!! Sad 5Grrrr 2

16.09.2007. u 21:37 • 2 KomentaraPrint#

nedjelja, 09.09.2007.

Jos slika... || More photos...

Probrala sam novonastale slike sa Zuiko digital 35mm makro lecom (jupi!):


zatim slike zalaska sunca na Pagu i jedna cak sa zagrebackog Jaruna:


te star(ij)e crno-bijele fotke (OK, ima i par novih):

09.09.2007. u 23:12 • 2 KomentaraPrint#

<< Prethodni mjesec | Sljedeći mjesec >>



< rujan, 2007 >
P U S Č P S N
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30


Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

zasto blog?

... trenutno radi zabave, kritike, updatea svojih frendova vani o mom zivotu i sl.

... email mi mozete poslati na gmail gdje je prije @ moj nickname... a nickname je u URLu ovog bloga (sorry na ovakvom "vague" emailu, ali ne zelim spambotove)...