ALVIN LEE & MYLON LeFEVRE - On The Road To Freedom (1973) [2003 Repertoire Record, Remastered]

Ten Years After guitarist Lee teamed up with gospel crooner LeFevre for a session that could be best described as hard spiritual rock. The 1973 album features guest shots from George Harrison, Stevie Winwood, Ronnie Wood, and Jim Capaldi, among others. This side project of Alvin Lee (departing from Ten Years After's no-holds-barred style) contains some of his best work. Those who are only familiar with such monster albums as 'Cricklewood Green' and 'A Space in Time' may find this work puzzling. Hooking up with American gospel singer Mylon Le Fevre, Lee served up helpings of more textured, sophisticated music than TYA. Even overt rockers like 'Riffin' and 'Fallen Angel' exhibit a more "roots-rock" sound than such songs as '50,000 Miles Beneath My Brain'. Using the talents of many big names (including George Harrison and several 'Traffic' members), the result is more varied and intricate than previous works. Even his blistering guitar work shows more finesse than usual with TYA's releases. The songs here range from the interesting-but-mediocre ('Lay Me Back' and 'Carry My Load') to the truly superlative (the title tune, 'The World is Changing' and the country-fried 'Funny'). In my opinion, one of Alvin Lee's best songs (maybe his very best) is the titular 'On the Road to Freedon'; with Mylon Le Fevre providing only backing vocals on this track, it effectively is Alvin Lee and Traffic (Steve Winwood on piano, Jim Capaldi on drums and Rebob on congas). Boy, is it one great song. Searing guitar, solid drumming, tasteful piano, a rousing melody and Lee's vocals never sounding better. It's nice to have this release available after so long. - amazon.com

01. On the Road to Freedom 02. The World Is Changing [I Got a Woman Back in Georgia] 03. So Sad [No Love of His Own] 04. Fall Angel 05. Funny 06. We Will Shine 07. Carry My Load 08. Lay Me Back 09. Let ‘Em Say What They Will 10. I Can’t Take It 11. Riffin 12. Rockin’ Til the Sun Goes Down 13. So Sad [No Love of His Own] - single version

Personnel: Alvin Lee (vocals, guitar, sitar, bagpipe, drums); Mylon LeFevre (vocals, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, percussion, background vocals); Ron Wood (guitar, 12-string guitar, slide guitar, drums); Andy Stein (fiddle); Tim Hinckley (piano, organ, background vocals); Steve Winwood (piano); Jim Capaldi, Mick Fleetwood (drums); Rebop (congas); Mike Patto (percussion, background vocals).



15.11.2011. u 08:26 • 0 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com

Blog.hr koristi kolačiće za pružanje boljeg korisničkog iskustva. Postavke kolačića mogu se kontrolirati i konfigurirati u vašem web pregledniku. Više o kolačićima možete pročitati ovdje. Nastavkom pregleda web stranice Blog.hr slažete se s korištenjem kolačića. Za nastavak pregleda i korištenja web stranice Blog.hr kliknite na gumb "Slažem se".Slažem se