THE UNION thumbupthumbupthumbup

Combining youth with experience, The Union formed from the ashes of one of the UK blues-rock scene's most under-rated contemporary bands and from one of its most enduring and successful exponents. Peter Shoulder, the lead vocalist of North East trio Winterville, who recorded just one album, Everything In Moderation, before splitting in 2007, and Luke Morley, the chief songwriter, guitarist and producer of London rock veterans Thunder, had previously met in 2001 and spent the subsequent eight years working together whenever their respective band commitments allowed them to. But it was only when Thunder went their separate ways in 2009, after twenty years and nine studio albums together, that the duo began recording material under the guise of The Union. Joined by Morley's former bandmate Chris Childs and The Quireboys and Tokyo Dragons drummer Phil Martini for their live shows, they played their first gig in the same year at London's The Relentless Garage, and went onto perform at the Sonsiphere and High Voltage festivals, as well as their own headline tour before releasing their self-titled debut album in 2010. Featuring the singles "Step Up To The Plate," "Watch The River Flow" and "This Time Next Year," it pursued a more eclectic direction than their previous output, taking in blues, Americana, folk and acoustic rock alongside their renowned harder-edged sound. After scooping Best New Band Of The Year at the Classic Rock Awards, they supported Thin Lizzy, Triggerfinger and Whitesnake on their European tours, and released their second album, Siren's Song, in 2011.

2010 - The Union
The Union is the eponymous debut album by The Union, the English rock band formed by ex-Thunder guitarist Luke Morley and Peter Shoulder (formerly of Winterville). BBC reviewed the album on August 8, calling it "a collaboration which benefits from a perfect pairing of youth and experience" and noting that it "could well be the album of their collective careers". Music News noted that the "critically acclaimed release" was "a very modern take on classic styles", featuring "impeccable songwriting" and "uniquely powerful and emotive vocals".
01. Watch The River Flow 02. Easy Street 03. Saviour 04. Step Up To The Plate 05. Holy Roller 06. You Know My Name 07. Come Rain Come Shine 08. Black Monday 09. Amazon 10. This Time Next Year 11. Lillies 12. The Space Between Us

2011 - Siren's Song
Siren's Song is the second studio album by The Union, the English rock band formed by ex-Thunder guitarist Luke Morley and Peter Shoulder (formerly of Winterville). It was released on 3 October 2011.
01. Siren's Song 02. Blame It On Tupelo 03. Orion 04. Obsession 05. Make Up Your Mind 06. The Remedy 07. Cut The Line 08. Burning Daylight 09. Black Gold 10. Time 11. If I Could Make You Mine



14.11.2011. u 08:53 • 0 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com

Blog.hr koristi kolačiće za pružanje boljeg korisničkog iskustva. Postavke kolačića mogu se kontrolirati i konfigurirati u vašem web pregledniku. Više o kolačićima možete pročitati ovdje. Nastavkom pregleda web stranice Blog.hr slažete se s korištenjem kolačića. Za nastavak pregleda i korištenja web stranice Blog.hr kliknite na gumb "Slažem se".Slažem se