SPIRIT - Rock And Roll Planet...1977-1979 (2008)

Spirit was an American jazz / hard rock / progressive rock / psychedelic band founded in 1967, based in Los Angeles, California. The original lineup of the group evolved from an earlier Los Angeles band, The Red Roosters, which included Randy California (guitars, vocals), Mark Andes (bass) and Jay Ferguson (vocals, percussion). With the addition of Ed Cassidy (drums) and keyboard player John Locke the new band was originally named the Spirits Rebellious (after a book by Khalil Gibran) but was soon shortened simply to Spirit. Randy California had also played with Jimi Hendrix (then known as Jimmy James) in Jimmy James and the Blue Flames in 1966. While the period 1977-1979 is not quite a completely lost era for Spirit, it is a largely undocumented one. Singer/guitarist Randy California, drummer Ed Cassidy, and, usually, bassist Larry "Fuzzy" Knight, with the occasional contribution of keyboardist John Locke, issued a studio album, Future Games: A Magical Kahauna Dream, at the outset in January 1977, but its poor sales led Mercury Records to drop the act. International touring led to a live album recorded in 1978 before Spirit temporarily went on hiatus in 1979. As part of an ongoing investigation into the band's archive of unreleased recordings, producer Mick Skidmore thoroughly chronicles Spirit's late-'70s activities on this sprawling triple-disc set, which runs about as long as three CDs can, nearly four hours.

2008 three CD set from the late, great Randy California and Spirit containing all previously unreleased material, alternative and live versions of classic Spirit material recorded between 1977-79. Features 'Phoenix, (Land Of The Rising Sun)', 'Stone Free', 'Cold Rainy Night', '1984', 'In Just A Little While', 'Hollywood Dream' and many others.

DISC 1 - Live:

01. Phoenix (Land of The Rising Sun) 02. Stone Free 03. Cold Rainy Night 04. Zandu 05. 1984 06. Rock and Roll Planet 07. Natures Way 08. These Are Words 09. Like A Rolling Stone 10. Animal Zoo 11. All Along The Watchtower 12. Downer 13. That's My Number

DISC 2 - Live:
01. Zandu 02. Fresh Garbage 03. Looking Down 04. Cold Rainy Night 05. Miss This Train 06. Darlin If 07. Same Old Naturally 08. Mr Skin 09. Its All The Same 10. I Got a Line on You 11. Walking The Dog 12. Morning Will Come 13. Day Tripper 14. I've Got Use To My Imagination 15. Wild Thing

DISC 3 - Studio Tracks:
01. Rock and Roll Planet 02. Something New 03. Love Charged 04. Midnight Train 05. Leavin' It Up to You 06. Bass Feuge 07. Zandu 08. In Just a Little While 09. Hollywood Dream 10. Same Old Naturally 11. Hawaiian Skies 12. Brian Berry Blues 13. Peter Franklin 14. These Are Words 15. So Happy Now 16. Storm in the Night 17. We've Got a Lot To Learn 18. (When I See You In The) Morning Light
Solo acoustic tracks: 19. Open Up Your Heart 20. Livin' In this World 21. 10,000 Days 22. Thinking Of You 23. Don't Give It All Away 24. Seems Like 1000 Years 25. Rainbow On The Water 26. Monkey See, Monkey Do


25.07.2010. u 11:22 • 5 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com

Blog.hr koristi kolačiće za pružanje boljeg korisničkog iskustva. Postavke kolačića mogu se kontrolirati i konfigurirati u vašem web pregledniku. Više o kolačićima možete pročitati ovdje. Nastavkom pregleda web stranice Blog.hr slažete se s korištenjem kolačića. Za nastavak pregleda i korištenja web stranice Blog.hr kliknite na gumb "Slažem se".Slažem se