JOHNNY CASH - Unearthed (2003)

Unearthed is an acclaimed box set by Johnny Cash, released two months after his death in 2003. It was produced by Rick Rubin and released by American Recordings. The first three discs feature outtakes and alternate versions of songs recorded for American Recordings, Unchained, American III: Solitary Man and American IV: The Man Comes Around. The fourth disc, My Mother's Hymn Book features gospel songs Cash first learned from his mother as a child. The final disc is a best of distillation of the first four American albums.

DISC 1 - Who's Gonna Cry:

01. Long Black Veil - Ouvir/Listen 02. Flesh and Blood 03. Just the Other Side of Nowhere 04. If I Give My Soul 05. Understand Your Man 06. Banks of the Ohio 07. Two Timin' Woman 08. Caretaker, The 09. Old Chunk of Coal 10. I'm Going to Memphis 11. Breaking Bread 12. Waiting For a Train 13. Casey's Last Ride 14. No Earthly Good 15. Fourth Man in the Fire, The 16. Dark as a Dungeon 17. Book Review - (bonus track) 18. Down There by the Train - (bonus track)

DISC 2 - Trouble In Mind:
01. Pocahontas - Ouvir/Listen 02. I'm a Drifter - (version 1) 03. Trouble in Mind 04. Down the Line 05. I'm Movin' On 06. As Long as the Grass Shall Grow 07. Heart of Gold 08. Running Kind, The - (with Tom Petty) 09. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby 10. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man - (with Carl Perkins) 11. "T" For Texas 12. Devil's Right Hand 13. I'm a Drifter - (version 2) 14. Like a Soldier - (bonus track, with Willie Nelson) 15. Drive On - (alternate lyrics, bonus track)

DISC 3 - Redemption Songs:
01. Singer of Songs, A - Ouvir/Listen 02. L & N Don't Stop Here Anymore, The 03. Redemption Song - (with Joe Strummer) 04. Father and Son - (with Fiona Apple) 05. Chattanooga Sugar Babe 06. He Stopped Loving Her Today 07. Hard Times 08. Wichita Lineman 09. Cindy - (with Nick Cave) 10. Big Iron 11. Salty Dog 12. Gentle on My Mind - (with Glen Campbell) 13. You Are My Sunshine 14. You'll Never Walk Alone 15. Man Comes Around, The - (early take, bonus track)

DISC 4 - My Mother's Hymn Book:
01. Where We'll Never Grow Old - Ouvir/Listen 02. I Shall Not Be Moved 03. I Am a Pilgrim 04. Do Lord 05. When the Roll Is Called up Yonder 06. If We Never Meet Again This Side of Heaven 07. I'll Fly Away 08. Where the Soul of Man Never Dies 09. Let the Lower Lights Be Burning 10. When He Reached Down 11. In the Sweet by and By 12. I'm Bound For the Promised Land 13. In the Garden 14. Softly and Tenderly 15. Just as I Am

DISC 5 - Best of Cash on American:
01. Delia's Gone 02. Bird on a Wire 03. Thirteen 04. Rowboat 05. One Rose, The 06. Rusty Cage 07. Southern Accents 08. Mercy Seat 09. Solitary Man 10. Wayfaring Stranger 11. One 12. Hung My Head 13. Man Comes Around, The 14. We'll Meet Again 15. Hurt - Ouvir/Listen


21.01.2010. u 10:14 • 7 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com