Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
WILSON PICKETT - The Very Best Of Wilson Pickett (1993)

The 16-song set The Very Best of Wilson Pickett released in 1993 of course paled in comparison to 1992's two-CD set, A Man and a Half: Best of Wilson Pickett. But even with its short length and dubious song choices, this does put the emphasis back into Pickett's strong offerings. "Land of 1000 Dances" and "In the Midnight Hour" both sound better here than on some lame soundtrack. The propulsive and great "Funky Broadway" has the perfect melody that was well suited to his vocal timbre. The unabashedly loud and Southern "She's Looking Good" proves that so-so Pickett was often stronger than the better-known classics. Although Pickett continued to make hard efforts, this set concentrates on his softer pop side with mixed results. A calmed-down Pickett shows up for such lame covers as "Hey Jude," "Fire and Water," and the lethal "Sugar Sugar." Thankfully, this set includes later Atlantic gems "Engine Number 9," "Don't Let the Green Grass Fool You," and the obdurate and testy "Don't Knock My Love" that all have Pickett back to his senses. The CD version of The Very Best of Wilson Pickett also includes Bobby Womack's "I'm a Midnight Mover." Unlike many compilations of the type, the omissions make this set maddening. Great tracks, "Ninety Nine and a Half," "Soul Dance Number Three," and "She's So Good to Me," should have replaced the waste on here. Despite the often odd choices, this set works well. ~ All Music Guide

01. In The Midnight Hour
02. 634-5789 (Soulsvuille, U.S.A.)
03. Land Of 1000 Dances
04. Mustang Sally
05. Funky Broadway
06. I'm In Love
07. She's Lookin' Good
08. Hey Jude
09. Sugar Sugar
10. Engine Number 9
11. Don't Let The Green Grass Fool You
12. Don't Knock My Love - Pt. 1
13. Fire And Water
14. I'm A Midnight Mover
15. I Found A Love - Pt. 1
16. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love

15.11.2009. u 11:23 • 4 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com

Blog.hr koristi kolačiće za pružanje boljeg korisničkog iskustva. Postavke kolačića mogu se kontrolirati i konfigurirati u vašem web pregledniku. Više o kolačićima možete pročitati ovdje. Nastavkom pregleda web stranice Blog.hr slažete se s korištenjem kolačića. Za nastavak pregleda i korištenja web stranice Blog.hr kliknite na gumb "Slažem se".Slažem se