Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
THE BIRDS - Collectors' Guide To Rare British Birds (1999)

This is an astonishingly lively and exciting collection, coming from a band that scarcely sold any records in their own time and are known today for their name and their lineup, but not their music. The stuff here is as crunchy and grinding as the early Who material, and if the band's own songwriting isn't as distinctive, the style of the performing is more appealing. The songs range from some hot Ron Wood originals ("You're on My Mind," "Next in Line," "That's All I Need") to covers of obscure Motown songs and Pete Townshend material. Think of the Kinks from "Long Tall Sally," the Yardbirds from "A Certain Girl," or the Who from "The Good's Gone" and that's the dominant sound here - curiously, their cover of Townshend's "Run Run Run" starts out as though it's going to turn into "My Generation." Ali MacKenzie sounded like a punkier Roger Daltrey, and Ron Wood's playing was a delightful compendium of rhythm fills and angular lues licks that must've been devastating on-stage. There's also an unlisted bonus track on the CD - at the risk of spoiling the surprise, it's their number from the 1966 horror film The Deadly Bees, which seems not to have survived as a formal, free-standing studio master.

01. You're On My Mind
02. You Don't Love Me
03. Leaving Here
04. Next In Line
05. No Good Without You
06. How Can It Be?
07. You're On My Mind (Demo)
08. You Don't Love Me (Demo)
09. Say Those Magic Words
10. Daddy Daddy
11. Run Run Run (Unissued Track)
12. Good Times (Unissued Track)
13. Say Those Magic Words (Alternate Version)
14. Daddy Daddy (Alternate Version)
15. La Poupee Qui Fait Non (Unissued Track)
16. Run Run Run (Alternate Version)
17. Daddy Daddy (Backing Track)
18. Granny Rides Agian (Unissued Single Track)

06.11.2009. u 08:14 • 0 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com

Blog.hr koristi kolačiće za pružanje boljeg korisničkog iskustva. Postavke kolačića mogu se kontrolirati i konfigurirati u vašem web pregledniku. Više o kolačićima možete pročitati ovdje. Nastavkom pregleda web stranice Blog.hr slažete se s korištenjem kolačića. Za nastavak pregleda i korištenja web stranice Blog.hr kliknite na gumb "Slažem se".Slažem se