Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
V.A. - Woodstock: 40 Years On: Back to Yasgur's Farm (2009)

Much has been written about the significance of the Woodstock Music & Art Fair as a cultural event. Ironically, what has been least examined up to now is the very thing that brought nearly half a million together in 1969: the music itself. As the historic festival marks its 40-year anniversary, Rhino presents WOODSTOCK: 40 YEARS ON: BACK TO YASGUR'S FARM, six-CD collection that features the most comprehensive collection ever available of artists that performed at the original festival, sequenced in chronological order of performance, featuring previously unreleased recordings, including the Grateful Dead, The Who, Tim Hardin, Jefferson Airplane, Country Joe & The Fish, and others. To assemble the most comprehensive document of the myth-steeped weekend, the boxed set's co-producer Andy Zax pored over every inch of multitrack tape in search of the strongest parts of each of the 33 sets. "The way we approached all of the material was as if it was a cinιma veritι documentary - the raw record of the event," Zax says. In addition to the music, the set offers considerable amount of ancillary material sprinkled throughout the discs - stage announcements, lysergic babble, the sounds of rain, a cameo appearance by Abbie Hoffman, and the graciousness of Max Yasgur's address to the crowd, heard for the first time in its entirety. Another significant byproduct of WOODSTOCK: 40 YEARS ON: BACK TO YASGUR'S FARM is that, by virtue of its size and rigorously chronological sequence, it gets closer to a sense of the performances as they occurred in real time than any previous compilation. For the first time, the complete and accurate set lists will be available in the boxed set's booklet. Some Woodstock aficionados will be taken aback by the actual order of the performances; it differs from both various written accounts and from Michael Wadleigh's film Woodstock, which takes certain liberties with chronology in order to maintain its narrative flow.


01. "Handsome Johnny" — Richie Havens
02. "Freedom (Motherless Child)" — Richie Havens
03. "Choppity Choppity"— John Morris
04. "Look Out" — Sweetwater
05. "Two Worlds"—Sweetwater *
06. "Jennifer" — Bert Sommer *
07. "And When It's Over"— Bert Sommer *
08. "Smile" — Bert Sommer *
09. "There Goes Marilyn!"— John Morris
10. "Hang On To A Dream" — Tim Hardin *
11. "Simple Song Of Freedom" — Tim Hardin *
12. "Flat Blue Acid"— John Morris
13. "Raga Puriya-Dhanashri/Gat In Sawarital" — Ravi Shankar *
14. "Momma Momma" — Melanie *
15. "Beautiful People" — Melanie
16. "Birthday Of The Sun" — Melanie
17. "Coming Into Los Angeles" — Arlo Guthrie ***
18. "Wheel Of Fortune" — Arlo Guthrie *
19. "Every Hand In The Land" — Arlo Guthrie *
20. "All You Funny People"— John Morris

01. "Joe Hill"— Joan Baez
02. "Sweet Sir Galahad"— Joan Baez
03. "Hickory Wind" — Joan Baez *
04. "Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man" — Joan Baez w/Jeffrey Shurtleff
05. "Bring Scully His Asthma Pills"— John Morris
06. "Insulin" & Quill Intro— John Morris
07. "They Live The Life" — Quill *
08. "That's How I Eat"— Quill *
09. "I Understand Your Wife Is Having A Baby"— Chip Monck
10. "Donovan's Reef" — Country Joe McDonald *
11. "The 'Fish' Cheer"/"I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag" — Country Joe McDonald
12. "Persuasion" — Santana
13. "Soul Sacrifice" — Santana
14. "How Have You Been"— John B. Sebastian
15. "Rainbows All Over Your Blues" — John B. Sebastian
16. "I Had A Dream" — John B. Sebastian
17. "The Letter" — Incredible String Band *
18. "When You Find Out Who You Are" — Incredible String Band *
19. "She Is Lost"— Chip Monck

01. "We're In Pretty Good Shape"— Chip Monck
02. "Going Up The Country" — Canned Heat
03. "Woodstock Boogie" — Canned Heat **
04. "The Brown Acid Is Not Specifically Too Good"— Chip Monck
05. "Blood Of The Sun" — Mountain ***
06. "Theme For An Imaginary Western" — Mountain ***
07. "For Yasgur's Farm" — Mountain *
08. "For Those Of You Who Have Partaken Of The Green Acid"— Chip Monck
09. "Green Acid Advice"— Jerry Garcia & Country Joe McDonald
10. "Dark Star" — Grateful Dead *
11. "Green River"— Creedence Clearwater Revival
12. "Bad Moon Rising"— Creedence Clearwater Revival *
13. "I Put A Spell On You" — Creedence Clearwater Revival

01. "Work Me, Lord" — Janis Joplin
02. "Ball And Chain" — Janis Joplin
03. Medley: "Dance To The Music"/"Music Lover"/"I Want To Take You Higher" - Sly & The Family Stone
04. "The Politics Of The Situation"— Abbie Hoffman
05. "Amazing Journey" — The Who *
06. "Pinball Wizard" — The Who *
07. Abbie Hoffman vs. Pete Townshend
08. "We're Not Gonna Take It" — The Who **
09. "The Other Side Of This Life" — Jefferson Airplane *
10. "Somebody To Love"— Jefferson Airplane
11. "Won't You Try"/ "Saturday Afternoon"— Jefferson Airplane
12. "We Got A Whole Lot Of Orange"— Grace Slick
13. "Volunteers" — Jefferson Airplane
14. "Breakfast In Bed For 400,000"—Wavy Gravy
15. "It Just Keeps Goin'"— John Morris
16. Max Yasgur Speaks

01. "Feelin' Alright"— Joe Cocker *
02. "Let's Go Get Stoned"— Joe Cocker
03. "With A Little Help From My Friends" — Joe Cocker
04. The Rainstorm
05. "Rock & Soul Music"— Country Joe & The Fish
06. "Love" — Country Joe & The Fish *
07. "Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine"— Country Joe & The Fish *
08. "Summer Dresses"— Country Joe & The Fish *
09. "Silver and Gold"— Country Joe & The Fish *
10. "Rock & Soul Music" (Reprise)— Country Joe & The Fish *
11. "Leland Mississippi Blues" — Johnny Winter *
12. "Mean Town Blues" — Johnny Winter
13. "You've Made Me So Very Happy"— Blood Sweat & Tears *

01. "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes" — Crosby Stills & Nash
02. "Guinnevere"— Crosby Stills & Nash
03. "Marrakesh Express" — Crosby Stills & Nash
04. "4 + 20" — Crosby Stills & Nash
05. "Sea Of Madness" — Crosby Stills Nash & Young
06. "Wooden Ships" — Crosby Stills Nash & Young
07. "No Amount Of Loving"—The Butterfield Blues Band *
08. "Love March" — The Butterfield Blues Band
09. "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" — The Butterfield Blues Band
10. "Get A Job" — Sha Na Na *
11. "At The Hop" — Sha Na Na
12. "Get A Job" (Reprise) — Sha Na Na *
13. "The Star Spangled Banner" - "Purple Haze" - "Woodstock Improvisation"— Jimi Hendrix
14. "Woodstock Farewell"— Chip Monck

* - Previously Unissued = never before released

** - Previously Unissued Full-Length Version = previously released on a Woodstock title in edited form.

***- Previously Unissued Woodstock Recording = presenting the actual Woodstock performances here for the first time.


17.08.2009. u 09:07 • 5 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com