MARIANNE FAITHFULL - A Perfect Stranger - The Island Anthology (1998)

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Who could have predicted in the '60s that Marianne Faithfull, at the time Mick Jagger's beautiful and scandalous actress girlfriend, would one day emerge as our greatest interpretive singer? The evidence can be heard on this extensive two-disc retrospective. After a decade and a half of recording everything from '60s pop covers culled from the Rolling Stones, the Beatles, country music, and pensive singer-songwriters, Marianne Faithfull signed with Island Records as a reinvented new-wave punk queen. With sharpened edge at the ready, she cut 1978's Broken English, a harrowing purge of sexual jealousy and guilt, six cuts from which are featured here. Her voice, ravaged from years of excess, cracks with wasted beauty and lent tarnished experience to her tales of strle and hopeless nostalgia. After several albums of modern pop (a healthy selection from all are included in this essential anthology), Faithfull hooked up with producer Hal Willner to record 1987's Strange Weather, adopting a new role as an ageless, bluesy chanteuse. A Perfect Stranger follows through her latest collaboration with Angelo Badalamenti (1995's A Secret Life) and features six previously unreleased tracks, including a cover of John Lennon's "Isolation" and "A Waste of Time," a song she cowrote with Steve Winwood. 1, 2, 3, 4,


01. Broken English
02. Witches' Song
03. Guilt
04. The Ballad of Lucy Jordan
05. Working Class Hero
06. Why D'ya Do It
07. Sister Morphine
08. Sweetheart
09. Intrigue
10. For Beauty's Sake
11. So Sad
12. Truth Bitter Truth
13. The Blue Millionaire (12" version)
14. Falling From Grace
15. Running For Our Lives

01. Ballad Of The Soldier's Wife
02. Trouble In Mind (The Return)
03. Boulevard of Broken Dreams
04. Yesterdays
05. Strange Weather
06. Gloomy Sunday (previously unreleased)
07. Hello Stranger
08. As Tears Go By
09. A Perfect Stranger (previously unreleased)
10. Conversation On A Barstool (previously unreleased)
11. A Waste Of Time (previously unreleased)
12. Isolation (previously unreleased)
13. Blazing Away
14. When I Find My Life (live)
15. Times Square (live)
16. Ghost Dance
17. Sleep
18. Love In The Afternoon
19. Bored By Dreams
20. She

19.11.2008. u 11:55 • 3 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com