The Cyrkle was a 1960's American rock and roll band. The band was formed by guitarists and lead singers Don Dannemann and Tom Dawes (bass guitar), who met while studying at Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania. The other members were Earl Pickens on keyboards and Marty Fried on drums. They were originally a "frat rock" band called The Rhondells, but were later discovered and managed by Brian Epstein, who was better known as manager of The Beatles. Epstein's partner was New York attorney Nathan Weiss, who heard the band in Atlantic City, New Jersey, on Labor Day in 1965. He became their manager and renamed them. John Lennon provided the unique spelling of their new name. They were produced by John Simon. In the summer of 1966, they opened on fourteen dates for the Beatles during their U.S. tour. On August 28, they headed the opening acts performing prior to The Beatles at Dodger Stadium. The other artists who appeared were Bobby Hebb, The Ronettes, and The Remains. Before touring with The Beatles, The Cyrkle had a successful engagement at the Downtown Discotheque in New York City.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The Cyrkle is best known for their 1966 song "Red Rubber Ball," which went to #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It was co-written by Paul Simon of Simon and Garfunkel and Bruce Woodley of The Seekers. The band had one more Top 20 hit, "Turn-Down Day" later in 1966. After the release of the debut album, Red Rubber Ball, they recorded a second album, Neon, in late 1966, and a movie soundtrack, The Minx, in 1967. They followed that with various singles and then disbanded in late 1967. *

01. Red Rubber Ball
02. Why Can't You Give Me What I Want
03. How Can I Leave Her
04. Turn Down Day
05. Cloudy
06. Please Don't Ever Leave Me
07. Don't Cry, No Fears, No Tears Comin' Your Way
08. I Wish You Could Be Here
09. Our Love Affair's In Question
10. The Visit (She Was Here)
11. We Had A Good Thing Goin'
12. Turn Of The Century
13. Penny Arcade
14. Where Are You Going
15. Red Chair Fade Away
16. Reading Her Paper
17. Straighten Out My Messed Up Life
18. We Said Goodbye (And Went Our Separate Ways Or So We Thought)

06.11.2008. u 12:39 • 2 CommentsPrintPermalink

<< Arhiva >>

DISCLAIMER: The music found through this blog is intended for review purposes and should not be seen as a substitute for the original, legal, RIAA approved, record company enriching product. Please note that songs are available for VERY short amount of time. And if you like the music BUY IT. Please support the artists and buy as much as you can directly from them and cut out the middle man.

Creative Commons License

zinhof [at] gmail.com