Photobucket

ponedjeljak, 31.12.2007.

My first Panettone

Photobucket

Uhh, what a job. I was determined to make the real ''Panettone'' not the quick versions of it. We always buy it during this time of the year, but this time I said, I will make it!
I made a research on it and oh how I wished that I spoke Italian. I will soon, that's for sure.

As you already know, it is a traditional Italian Christmas bread, just like Stollen in Germany. A classic Panettone comes from Milan and I read that it takes about 10 days to make it! I am sure it's not like that in the industry, but there are definitely many Italians who take the time to make it since it is for once in the year. There is also ''Pandoro'' which is usually star shaped (mm, I love that one!) with no dried fruits.
The classic one, which is the one I made, contains lots of egg yolks, dried fruits like candied orange and lemon zest and raisins that shouldn't be soaked. My version took me 3 days to make and boy how ineresting was that. I have never made something like this before!

Today is the last day in 2007 and it will be a nice treat to share with my family. I am so excited, you have no idea! By the way it looks, it should be good :))
The recipe for Il Panettone Milanese is just a click away, here!

And just a note...Make sure you have a good mixer for this, because that is way to much work to do by hand. I personally couldn't knead a piece of dough for 1 hour.
I have to go now, Panettone is waiting for me!!

Photobucket

- 13:57 - Comments (16) - Isprintaj - #

petak, 28.12.2007.

20 candles for me!

Today is THE day of the year, and this time a very special one for me indeed. Twenty candles were burning and I felt strange thinking about the fact that I'm not a teenager anymore. However, I had a beautiful day and I want to thank everyone for lovely birthday wishes!! :))



Photobucket

Photobucket

- 18:59 - Comments (6) - Isprintaj - #

utorak, 25.12.2007.

Merry Christmas!

I wish you all a very merry and happy Christmas! Have a wonderful day, be around people that you love, and eat lots of cookies (like me)!! :)

Sretan Božić mojim Hrvatima diljem svijeta!

Photobucket

Photobucket

- 13:22 - Comments (6) - Isprintaj - #

ponedjeljak, 24.12.2007.

Sicilian Cannoli

Photobucket

The day has come that I finally decided on making real Sicilian Cannoli. It is questionable how REAL they are, as they were not tasted by an Italian, but I was quite satisfied with the final outcome. I made mini-cannoli's and I find it better then the big ones filled with loads of cream. I filled half of them with vanilla (pastry) cream and the other ones with fresh ricotta. It was not overly sweet which is what I love about them. In most cases I reduce the amount of sugar.

I got the recipe from Epicurious and I didn't have any difficulties except that the dough was a bit weird. I don't know, it just didn't combine as it should! Well, there is ALWAYS something. I would suggest adding one more yolk to the dough. And let me tell you, those little fellas are very time consuming, but the taste is exceptional. I would definitely make them again, but do some more research on the dough.

For the filling I used ricotta cheese, which was bought from an Italian who gets it fresh each day, chopped pistachios, my mum's arancini, and powdered sugar to taste. Have a look at the recipe, they added some more ingredients, but I loved it just like this. Oh, and not to forget the vanilla ones, they were just mmm as well.
They were gone in less then a minute! I had barely any time to take a photo! I guess that tells you something ;)


Photobucket

- 12:49 - Comments (4) - Isprintaj - #

utorak, 18.12.2007.

Mushrooms all around!

OH boy, there is something new almost every day!! Those are the cutest freaking mushrooms I have ever seen! It is a special for New Year madness. Demel and all that creativity, it blows me off every single day.
Have I mentioned that I'm doing something for the new show window presentation? Yes, I am making a lebkuchen (gingerbread) dough parquet. If you ever need flooring, just let me know, I can make it extra cinnamony if you wish! ;)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 22:55 - Comments (9) - Isprintaj - #

subota, 15.12.2007.

Funky little creature

After a few days I am FINALLY able to write a post. The blog server had some technical issues so bloggers couldn't write and readers could't comment. Luckily, everything's back on the track! ;)
Here I have an unusual item to show you...or should I call it a creature?! I got it from my parents in the package they sent me a while ago. I suppose it won't take you long to guess what it is....will it?

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 20:09 - Comments (5) - Isprintaj - #

ponedjeljak, 10.12.2007.

Lebkuchen

For some known for some maybe unknown, Lebkuchen is for me the king of Christmas baking (ok, next to vanille kipferl). In the US it is known as gingerbread, but this is a real German Lebkuchen. It was actually my first attempt to make it and I am very satisfied with the result, so I`m sharing it with you! I really felt like a chemist doing this project, it was very interesting.
Imagine me mixing up my dough with special glasses, gloves, and equipment like gauge glass and what not! Hahaha, oh well, it wasn't that extreme, but it will get you almost there. Just you wait and see....

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

You will need:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket210g All prupose flour
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket210g rye flour
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket50g sugar
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket10g vanilla sugar
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket30ml water
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket300g honey
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket2 egg yolks
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket6g ground cinnamon
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucketpinch of cardamom, cloves and nutmeg (to taste)
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketZest of one untreated lemon and orange
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket5g Ammonium
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket2 1/2g Potash
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket20ml milk
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket50g butter

Lets get going:

To make the dough, which you have to make the day before, sift both of the flours.

Combine both of the sugars with water and bring to a boil. Add the honey, stir untill it dissolves, and while it's still hot add to the flour. Paddle with the mixer or knead the dough until smooth. In the book it says if you make it by hand it could take you half an hour. About that...If you have time and strenght....Mixer would be the best option ;)

Combine the yolks, zests, spices and add to the dough.

Now comes the fun part. I took from work (you can ask in ) some Ammonium and Potash that we use for Lebkuchen as well, because you can do it without those two ingredients.Ammonium looks like sodium bicarbonate and Potash looks like small tapioca balls. If you are not familiar with them, it will be the best to google them ;) Basically, they are the leavening agents and very important for Lebkuchen.

Now you have to dilute those two powders. I have really used a gauge glass that I had here in the kitchen, because I was dealing with very small amounts. First, take a small glass and measure the Ammonium. Add 10ml of the milk and stir. To make it easier for you, 10 ml is just enough to dilute the powder so you don't have to measure it really.
After that, do the same with Potash, stir until dissolved. You can't mix both of them together, because acidity and base repel eachother. When you're done with the chemical work, you can add it to the dough!
BEWARE: Potash stinks like hell! Have you ever dyed your hair? Yep, that's what it smells like.

Place the dough in a bowl and cover. It will look sticky, but wait until tomorrow. You don't have to put it in a fridge, I left it outside, just covered.

Dust the working surface with good amount of flour (it sticks!), and roll out to desired thickness. Now do what you wish!
Bake at 160°C for about 15 minutes, or until slighlty brown on the top and bottom. Let cool.

I covered some with dark chocolate (70%), and some with a mixture of honey and a little bit of water that I heated up and then brushed them with it for a shine. Let dry out, and then store in an airtight container.
The longer they stay, the better they are!

Try this, if you dare, or maybe you have already. Don't think I am trying to poison you, I already ate a few and as you can see, I am still typing ;)


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 20:10 - Comments (4) - Isprintaj - #

petak, 07.12.2007.

Chocolate with...WHAT?!

The other day on the way to the gym, I stopped by a chocolate store. Ha, how interesting is that, the chocolate store is right next to the gym! It was St. Nicholas day and I wanted to give myself a little treat since I was so good lately :)) This was the first time that I actually didn't get anything after waking up in the morning, so I had to do something about it.

I bought some quinoa few days ago to try it and after reading much about it. I have to say, I really like it. I don't know what to compare it to, you just have to try it. It is so cool how it gets all transparent when cooked! I am a fan of all grains, but especially new, different, and weird ones! Like the black lentils I also got! They are great and not sooo different from the regular brow ones if you're wondering...
Ok, lets go back to the chocolate. I spotted this one and I immediately knew I had to get it! It is a BIO, meaning organic chocolate, with 56% cocoa solids and quinoa grains in it. The chocolate itself is fantastic, but you can't really taste the quinoa + there isn't much of it, so....Bottom line: Chocolate is too overpowering in order to taste Quinoa which is a very mild grain.

Oh Tea, cut it off, the chocolate is good, and nothing else matters. Please, enjoy this bar with me.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 21:36 - Comments (8) - Isprintaj - #

četvrtak, 06.12.2007.

Here I am!!

Just a quick note from me so you see I'm alive and baking it big time! Well, to be more precise, I am in the cookie motion these days...It is already late, but since I don't want any protest on my blog (no protest Sher, heheh!) I had to write what was I up to! Basically, I am VERY busy, I stay late at work and then I go to the gym which I love! :))
This little fella here is what I have been doing this afternoon. I was setting them up with another girl, Maria. We probably made like a thousand of them, but it was fun! I really don't mind doing any work. I simply love my job.

Here is a photo for you from the ''Nuss Törtchen'', which can be translated as little nut cakes. The thin and crisp cookies are just egg whites with ground walnuts and sugar. They are so crisp and mmm! They are then filled with nougat-dark chocolate cream and the top is the same cookie, but covered in dark chocolate with a walnut on top! Simply fantastic!
Enjoy! ;)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket



- 23:28 - Comments (8) - Isprintaj - #

ponedjeljak, 03.12.2007.

As promised......

I managed to keep my promise and write Merry Christmas today (on German of course!).
It looks kinda funny, but I think it will match my stars + I will give Demel a slightly different look ;) My Chef just smiled and approved it and for the rest of my collegues, they said it was very good...at least that's what they said...
So that you don't think it's all that nice and shiny, I have to admit I messed up once. I forgot 1 letter. YES, one freaking letter and had to do it allllllll over again (did I say I have to do 2 of those?). So yea, I practiced a little more and it was way better then the second time which is a good thing and I gave everyone a good laugh! :))

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 20:41 - Comments (5) - Isprintaj - #

nedjelja, 02.12.2007.

First Sunday in December

Believe it or not, we have just entered December, a wonderful month of the year. I can't believe I have come so far already!
I had a well deserved weekend and I am ready for another busy week ahead of me. To be honest, this is the first time that I don't feel like going to work tomorrow. Oh well... I have to write Merry Christmas tomorrow with a sugar glaze and I am kinda nervous, because that will come under my stars...If everything goes well, you may expect a photo tomorrow, if not...just forget that I even mentioned it! ;)
Oh, almost forgot, I made today a fantastic apple tart which I didn't have good photos of, but I strongly recommend the recipe from Smitten kitchen. Take a look and enjoy the lovely photos! ;)

Now it's bed time for me, tomorrow is Moday which means getting up at 6:15...Have a good night my foodies!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

- 23:00 - Comments (2) - Isprintaj - #