Pomalo od svega

14.06.2008., subota

Candida - day 6/7

Yesterday I went to bed after the midnight. The worst part is that I woke up this morning at 7 o'clock.
I think part of the problem was the lunch I had yesterday. It was so filling, so heavy laying on my stomach.
Later in the evening I had my yoga class.
I managed to survive the standing postures, but no way for the laying ones. I had a feeling I was about to throw up. So full and heavy.

So, today I had a bean day.

Breakfast:
There was still a piece of that not that great bread from yesterday. I ate it with ajvar (can be bought in ex-Yu, Turkish shops), just make sure that there is no sugar in it. Mine is home-made - my Mum, of course! And to make it complete and not to be too hungry (as there was not that much bread, after all) I ate two spoons of hazelnut-almond paste (to be found in the bio shops).

Later on I had an apple, as a snack.

For lunch I didn't eat anything (it was a shopping day, so had no time to eat).
If I would have, it would be something with the beans, most probably something simple like beans salad (chop one small onion, 5 tablespoons not-leveled of beans, salt, pepper, lemon juice). Simple, quick, easy and fulfilling.

For dinner I made Mung dhal beans with spinach.
I have found this receipt in the Sarah Brown's Vegetarian Cookbook, ISBN 0-86318-265-8, page 97.
Receipt with my modification:
I took the whole Mung beans, instead of split ones. Then I cooked them for 15 minutes (in vain hope not to have too much gas later on).
In the mean time I followed the receipt: chopped an onion, grated 3cm of ginger root and fried it for a few minutes in oil - add quite a bit. Added 3 cloves of garlic (small cubes), two tablespoons of cumin (which I tried to ground,but it didn't work, stayed way too big),and a tablespoon of turmeric. After frying a bit, I added those Mung beans, added 1/2l water and let it simmer (I wanted them overcooked).
After good half an hour (you do need to stir from time to time), I took them of the fire and added spinach.
Spinach I took frozen from the fridge and unfroze it. Squeezed the water out of it and added to the Mung beans. Before adding the spinach, I grated creamed coconut, approx 80g. Stirred in the spinach and that grated coconut (delicious stuff, by the way).
Added salt and pepper and stirred well. And then there was something missing.
So, I chopped finely another 5 cloves of garlic and stirred it in.

Now,since I was not eating this meal alone, and men tend to like meat, I have decided to make lamb saft.
I cut the lamb (as I like lamb meat, I have bought 650gr lamb meat - no bones, nice tender meat), cut it in small pieces (approx 2x2x2).
Before that I have chopped 2 smaller onions, and grated 1.5cm of ginger root and fried it together, added meat, and continued frying for another 7-10min. Then I chopped four tomatoes and added them to the meat. I've left it simmer for another 15 minutes.
After that I have added around 7dl of water and let it cook on not too high fire. After approx 3dl water evaporated, I added 2 spoons of polenta flour, just to thicken the sauce, and left it simmer for another 20 minutes.
In the end, I chopped another 4-5 cloves of garlic finely and added them to the lamb, together with a tablespoon of dried rosemary. Stirred another few times, turned off the fire and left it covered for two minutes.

It was delicious and the love of my life was happy with it, too.

Another update.
The reason why I went to bed so late yesterday was baking. I baked another batch of cakes.
Ok, now: when baking pure coconut maroons, I added way too less oil. Let them be oily, they'll be much nicer AND you'll be able to peel them of the baking sheet.
So, tried maroons with ginger (nice, but I think more ginger needs to be added), clove and cocoa. Do not put too much cocoa! They're bitter (although I like them that way) and quite filling.

I made a batch with mixture of coconut and almond flour. These need more fluid (like coconut milk or any kind of milk, and I think the yolk and the white need to be divided, can't be mixed together), and need oil, too. Again, do not put too much cocoa.
Bake it on 175-180 degrees, not more - I've tried and they burned a bit, but didn't dry in the middle. 20 min top!
Going to bed.Good night.

P.S. Tomorrow is polenta day. Check how to make it (already wrote about that one). So the breakfast will be with goat milk. Mmmljac!
Then in the afternoon, I'll make some more fresh polenta and prepare a simple saus (as I have forgotten to buy ANY vegetables). Most probably, I'll fry some onions and a few cloves of garlic in a very little oil (shouldn't eat to fat), and add some coconut milk, max 1dl.
- 21:38 - Komentari (0) - Isprintaj - #

<< Arhiva >>

< lipanj, 2008 >
P U S Č P S N
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            


Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

Opis bloga

Linkovi

My recipes