04

petak

studeni

2011

INFUSION PUMP SAFETY. INFUSION PUMP


INFUSION PUMP SAFETY. SOLAR POWERED PUMP.



Infusion Pump Safety





infusion pump safety






    infusion pump
  • (INFUSION PUMPS) Pumps for giving fluid or medication into your vein at a specific rate or over a set amount of time.

  • (Infusion Pumps) Small, preloaded mechanical devices used to continuously administer intravenous chemotherapy over a designated period of time.

  • An infusion pump infuses fluids, medication or nutrients into a patient's circulatory system. It is generally used intravenously, although subcutaneous, arterial and epidural infusions are occasionally used.





    safety
  • The condition of being protected from or unlikely to cause danger, risk, or injury

  • A condom

  • the state of being certain that adverse effects will not be caused by some agent under defined conditions; "insure the safety of the children"; "the reciprocal of safety is risk"

  • a safe place; "He ran to safety"

  • Denoting something designed to prevent injury or damage

  • guard: a device designed to prevent injury or accidents











Diabetes 365 - Day 104: January 29, 2008 - Breaking the Rules




Diabetes 365 - Day 104: January 29, 2008 - Breaking the Rules





When you have to take four, or six, or eight, or more injections every day of your life, it becomes second-nature.

Little things, like rolling up a sleeve, using an alcohol swab, waiting for the alcohol to dry, and then trying to remember where you put alcohol in the first place so you can aim for it start taking up a good chunk of time when you have to do them six times a day, or when you're in the middle of a restaurant or sitting in class.

Thus, many people with type 1 diabetes just shoot insulin through their clothing. It's so common that they've even done studies on its safety.

(Note that for infusion sets I am more careful and use alcohol and such because they're more likely to get infected.)

And why am I taking a shot when I'm on the pump? Nope, it's not because I'm super high. It's because I cooked lunch and then remembered that my pump didn't have enough insulin in it to bolus with. Laziness wins out again, and so I take a shot and will change the cartridge later so I can eat now!











Huh?




Huh?





Today something weird happened. I happened to glance down at my safety loop (which is built into these) and saw a glint of light. Was it an air bubble? I checked, and sure enough, it is. It's the longest air bubble I've ever seen, and it makes no sense at all. I checked to see if there was a hole somewhere, but I didn't find one.

The rest of the tubing is fine - not a single bubble, and none in the cartridge. My pump wasn't sitting perfectly upright, either. So I haven't a clue.

I guess it just goes to show that anything that can't possibly happen, will. To me. ;)









infusion pump safety







See also:

black pumps size 6

float switch for sump pump

fountain pump solar

geyser hot water heat pump

pool pump onga

pump it up waiver

pump it up newport de

pump up tunes

grinder sewage pump



<< Arhiva >>