BBQ COOKING CLASSES

četvrtak, 10.11.2011.

COOKING LESSONS IN FRANCE : IN FRANCE


Cooking Lessons In France : Cooking A Lobster Tail : Good Cooking Books



Cooking Lessons In France





cooking lessons in france















Jehan George Vibert




Jehan George Vibert





BIOGRAPHY OF JEHAN GEORGE VIBERT

Writing in the third person, Vibert, less than modestly, wrote of himself in the 1895 Century Magazine that
(pg. 78): e that (pg. 78):

…being an excellent cook, you have invented and prepared sauces that make your compatriots lick their fingers; that, using your pen as well as your brush, you have written songs and plays that have been applauded in the minor theaters of Paris; that, following the example of Moliere, and having, like him, an extraordinary talent as an actor, you have played your own productions at the club and in artistic salons; then, having a passion for building, and trying your hand at all the trades, you are not only your own architect, but do not disdain occasionally to work in iron, like Louis XVI., or in wood, like the good St. Joseph; and finally that, in decorating your house, you have distinguished yourself as an upholsterer. In the last particular, you may even say that you surpass Moliere, or he, although the son of an upholsterer, was not himself one.

Besides shamelessly admitting to self-glorification, Vibert also shows that he is a man with diverse talents and interests and a witty personality - qualities that would later shape his satirical works, leading to his depiction of incendiary scenes that in earlier times would have had him imprisoned.

Jehan (or Jean) Georges Vibert was born in Paris September 30, 1840. His maternal grandfather was the celebrated engraver Jean-Pierre-Marie Jazet and his paternal grandfather, Jean-Pierre Vibert was an important botanist who perfected new species of roses, one of which he named after Jehan-Georges. As a young man Vibert was a mediocre student, “more assiduous in drawing pictures of people in [his] copy-books than in paying attention to [his] master’s lessons.” (Vibert, The Century Magazine, 1895, pg. 79) Just as many other artists, Vibert’s diligence did not extend to his studies.

Vibert knew from early on that he was destined to be an artist. He began his artistic training with his grandfather, Jazet, and executed engravings. But he soon realized that his inspiration lay in painting and entered the studio of Felix-Joseph Barrias and eventually the Ecole des Beaux-Arts when he was sixteen. Barrias was a serious teacher but also encouraged young artists to develop their own style, forcing them to focus on drawing before executing any paintings. During his studies Vibert was an active participant in the many competitions that were held among the students, finally earning first place in one. He later was under the tutelage of Francois-Edouard Picot and remained at the Ecole for six years of study, perfecting his technique.

Around 1860 he came into contact with a young Spanish artist by the name of Eduardo Zamacois while they were both in Paris. Perhaps under his influence, Vibert traveled several times to Spain; his earliest trip was around 1860-61. From these journeys he collected Spanish clothing and objects which he later used to create authentic settings for his compositions. For a period during and after these trips he became intrigued by everything Spanish and executed a number of compositions such as Viendra-t-Il? (Will he Come?) or the earlier Toreros Priant Avant d’Entrer dans l’Arene (Toreros at Prayer before Entering the Arena). The friendship between the two young men remained steadfast; they worked together on their 1866 Salon entry entitled Entree des Toreros (Entrance of the Toreros). For two artists to work collectively on a composition submitted to the Salon must have been unusual.

Prior to this collaboration and after his first visits to Spain, Vibert debuted at the Salon of 1863 with two genre compositions, La Sieste (The Siesta) and Repentir (Repentance). His early works show the influence of his master Picot, and in 1864 he was given a medal for Narcisse Change en Fleur, Insouciance (Narcissus Transformed into a Flower). He also received a medal in 1867 and 1868.

From 1866-67 he turned towards genre scenes that fully established his reputation among the leading artists of the period. Eugene Montrosier wrote of Vibert that (quoted in Eric Zafran’s Cavaliers and Cardinals: Nineteenth Century French Anecdotal Paintings, ex. cat., Cincinnati: Taft Museum, 1992, pg. 15):

Not being able to bring the amateurs to his doors, he resolved to follow their tastes, and in 1867 he boarded the “genre” as bravely as he had the “grand style,” and with much more tangible success.

The most widely known of these genre scenes were those of the clergy members; satirized beyond what would have been accepted in any other earlier period in France. But at this point in French history, contempt for the clergy had grown to such a level that these humorous attacks were accepted. Clergy members were often shown as mockingly decadent figures, captured at play with one another, sitting lazily in their chair and laughing, playing an instrument, and partaki











It's all about ME! (but Tor sneaked in the photo!)




It's all about ME! (but Tor sneaked in the photo!)





I wrote this on my facebook page, thought I might post it here too.


1.I put off everything until the last minute, including my school work which Kim has told me to do now before she gets home. I am also putting off having my wisdom tooth removed.

2.I like to think I work better under pressure.

3.I can’t catch a ball or play tennis and I have awful handwriting, but last year I got a form to tell me it’s not my fault!

4.The majority of my t-shirts are white with a pattern on the front, I have at least 25.

5.I am intolerant to aspartame and dairy, which means I can’t have pizza, ice cream, diet coke or chewing gum.

6.I’ve always wanted a house rabbit.

7.I believe every meal can be enhanced by mayonnaise and/ or soy sauce.

8.Despite being brought up in the countryside,I think I’m a city person at heart.

9.I love nothing more than a good day trip, and not just for the photo opportunities.

10.I miss Asia almost every day.

11.Cartoons aimed at adults really annoy me, particularly Family Guy and American Dad.

12.If I had to choose standing in front of a room of people naked, or stand in the same room and sing a 3 minute song, I would choose naked every time.

13.I wish I cared more about my appearance. Not much more, just enough to get up 10 minutes earlier, do my hair and check my clothes before leaving the house, and maybe do some exercise.

14.If I get an idea in my head I nearly always follow it through.

15.I had to decide between doing my teaching masters qualification this year and doing a City and Guilds photography course, I chose the photography.

16.I’ve done a lot of stuff in 26 years (School, Uni, working/living in south of France, traveling in Asia, volunteering Vietnam, teaching in Manchester) and met a lot of people, the downside is that's more people to miss and feel guilty about not seeing.

17.My biggest worry during my PGCE (teacher training) was that my Literacy was weak, my most recent review says ‘Claire’s Literacy lessons are a particular strength’ which was a big relief for me.

18.In 2006 I swapped dating boys for dating girls;this was a HUGE shock to everyone, especially me.

19.I’ve been with Kim for 11 months and 2 days ;-)

20.I hate driving. If I won the lottery my biggest extravagance would be a chauffeur.

21.I’m quite good at cooking, I like having guests over and feeding them. I think I got this from my mum.

22.I think sushi is a great hangover cure.

23.For a year I was assistant manager of a Fat Face clothes store. I didn’t take it very seriously, instead challenging myself to sell customers the most disgusting item of clothes I could find.

24.I love music and listening to music, but if a track comes on I don’t like I literally can’t listen to it; it makes me too mad.

25.I love working with teenagers, and think some of them are the funniest and most open-minded people you will ever meet.. That’s not to say they can’t be complete shits.










cooking lessons in france







Similar posts:

campfire cooking grates

chicken cooking temperature internal

kitchen cooking timer

cooking holiday italy

angelababy beautiful cooking

cooking schools seattle

australian cooking methods

titanium cooking pot

cooking process



10.11.2011. u 06:24 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

<< Arhiva >>

  studeni, 2011  
P U S Č P S N
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Studeni 2011 (19)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

BBQ COOKING CLASSES

bbq cooking classes, steaming method of cooking, cooking for children, alive and cooking recipes 2011