BLOGGING & TRAFFIC TIPS
Free counter and web stats

Subscribe in a reader


Subscribe to advertisement by Email





MY BANNER

Image and video hosting by TinyPic



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Banner made with BannerFans.com, hosted on ImageShack.us

randompoliticalthoughtsandnews

24patrol

Buzzet The Net

traffic & blogging tips

best insurance tips

Free Website Hosting






























TRAFFIC & BLOGGING TIPS

14.04.2010., srijeda

Blogging Then And Now



If you were starting a new blog today what’s the first thing you would do? I’ve just started a new blog and I started thinking about the difference between my first blog and this one. Here are some of the things I looked at.

Then

I bought a domain, tying it vaguely to some of the services I hoped to offer. I simply added the blog onto that and it had no clear identity of its own.

Now

I thought very carefully about the topic I wanted to cover, and used to some online keyword research tools to find out what people were searching for. I then tried to combine these into some sort of sensible name and then I searched for domain names that combined my keywords.

Then

I experimented with a wide range of blogging software. Not only did I try WordPress but I dabbled with B2Evolution and Textpattern but I didn’t get very far and I managed to mess up my blog a couple of times.

Now

These days I go straight for WordPress, because this is the one that works best for me. Once I had setup may domain name and arranged hosting I did a one click install of the latest version of WordPress and I was good to go.

Then

I didn’t know much about plug-ins. After enabling Aksimet I basically left the blog alone and did nothing to help with search engine optimisation or connecting with my readers.

Now

I’ve tried a number of anti-spam combinations and I always install a set of key WordPress plug-ins including something to back up the database, Subscribe to comments, Comment luv, Google XML site maps and WordPress stats. I also include links to social media communities.

Then

I wouldn’t have known what to do with WordPress theme files. I could just about manage downloading and installing themes but I never interfered with anything. If a theme didn’t do the work that I wanted I simply got another one.

Now

I’ve used a wide range of themes, both free and premium, and I have no problem messing around with the code, though I still need some help to find certain snippets.

Then

It wasn’t very easy for people to subscribe to my blog and follow updates.

Now

One of the first things I do when I start a new blog is burn a feed in Feedburner, and put an email subscription form in the sidebar. Content is also syndicated through a variety of social media channels. My main blogs all have their own Twitter accounts (though generally these are not very active). I also make a podcast feed available on my existing blog and will do so on the new one if readers want it.

Then

I didn’t think about promotion and social networking in any sort of structured way. I was not a member of any forums and there weren’t many places that you could find me online. As far as the online world knew, I was practically invisible.

Now

I’m a member of several online communities (posterous,hootsuites, tweetie,simler) some of them built around existing blogs, and interact regularly on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn. This gives me a head start in talking to people about my new blog and makes for a great community on my existing one.

How have your blogging practices changed in the time you’ve been online?

- 09:54 - Komentari (0) - Isprintaj - #

<< Arhiva >>

2010-04 (1)
2010-03 (1)
2009-08 (2)
2009-06 (1)
2009-05 (3)
2009-04 (2)
2009-03 (1)
2009-02 (1)
2009-01 (3)
2008-12 (6)
2008-10 (2)
2008-09 (3)
2008-08 (3)
2008-07 (2)
2008-06 (12)
2008-05 (20)
2008-04 (2)
2008-03 (1)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv






   












Entertainment Blogs

Join My Community at MyBloglog!
Internet blogs

Spicy Topsites
Blog Directory
Blog Directory

BloGate logo
eLearning Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog DirectoryImage and video hosting by TinyPic

Top Blogs

On our way to 1,000,000 rss feeds - millionrss.comShow off your blog
blog directory
BRDTracker
Add Your Link

Marketing / SEO


Technology & Computers - Top Blogs Philippinesblog rating and reviews
BlogsByCategory.com