ACCOMMODATION ON KANGAROO ISLAND

utorak, 08.11.2011.

ACCOMMODATION ON KANGAROO ISLAND - KANGAROO ISLAND


ACCOMMODATION ON KANGAROO ISLAND - HOTEL SOL CARIBE CAMPO - LONE STAR INN.



Accommodation On Kangaroo Island





accommodation on kangaroo island














Ball of Light Kangaroo Island - Part 2




Ball of Light Kangaroo Island - Part 2





GLASS GALORE!

With 3 Days to go until we depart for Kangaroo Island I have started getting ready! I have been sick with a cold all weekend, so am running a bit behind. I only got around to booking accommodation and travel today! I bet Peter Lik doesn't have these problems! Anyway, lots to get through so here goes.

I have decided to have a bit of a play with some lenses this trip. I have learned the beauty of hiring lenses. A must if you are wanting to experiment. I will list the lenses, and my thought process behind each one for the trip.

50 1.8 - Owned
I already own this lens, and it has been amazing for me whilst out. Adding the wide open aperture to light painting adds another complete dimension that I hope the 24 1.4 will only add to. I love this lens so much, it is so easy.

17mm Tilt Shift
I have been wanting to play with one of these for long time. For two main reasons. Firstly I am hoping that I can get some really wide shots, and adjust out the warping of the Ball of Light. I have used a really wide lens before and had some crazy egg shaped orbs result. This should be fun. I am also conscious of the fact the Remarkable rocks are large, and some parts quite high. So I am hoping that having this lens will allow me to make the most of this situation. It is a serious piece of glass, and has a retail price in the vicinity of $2,400, os hiring for the weekend is a good test

24 F1.4
When I go back through all of my shots taken with the 24-105 I already own, most of my shots are at 24mm. So going for a prime lens at this focal length makes a huge amount of sense to me. I am really excited about what 1.4 will give me with the stars etc. It is also a super sharp lens overall which I am super excited about. If this lens works well away I will be buying it when I get back. It has been on my wish list for ages!

24-105 F4
I love this lens. It lives on my camera! I only hope it doesn't feel sad whilst sitting in my bag most of the weekend!

So those are the lenses I am taking away. I think we should get some varying results, and certainly some different stuff to normal with such an array!

Yipee!











Circa 2009: The former HMAS FALIE falls on uncertain times in Port Adelaide. Photo WNSF.




Circa 2009: The former HMAS FALIE falls on uncertain times in Port Adelaide. Photo WNSF.





4977. We're sorry to say, rust and the elements have now taken a heavier toll on the old girl that the House of Nippon ever could [see preceding entry]. Finally retired as the last commercial sailing vessel on the Australian coast in 1982, the 46m ketch was acquired by the South Australian Government the following year to be used as a heritage fleet flagship for the State's sesquicentenary celebrations in 1986. The work was done by Metal Industry employees and apprentices with grants from the Federal and State Governments. She was re-masted and given new sails, and was fitted with accommodation and a galley below decks. With this arrangement she could carry up to 90 passengers on day trips and 20 passengers plus nine crew overnight.

In the years that followed FALIE became a popular tourist attraction and excursion ship, but never profitably. In 2005 a hull inspection found that her metal plating was so corroded and thin that she could no longer remain in survey.

Since then, plans to moor her at Kangaroo Island as an interpretive museum, and searches for a sponsor to finance her re-plating and rescue have come and gone with nothing happening. Estimates of the repair and rebuilding needed have risen from $1m to $3m.

It's the sad but familiar story for historic vessels. Everyone wants to see them saved, but noone wants to pay for it. The prognosis for FALIE presently looks bleak, and the nautical press speculates on her ending. On our most recent trace, FALIE had been given a new berth outside the Australian Fisheries Academy in Port Adelaide's inner harbour, west of the Birkenhead Bridge, a move approved by the Transport Department and Land Management Corporation. As seen above, FALIE had previously been berthed along McLaren Wharf, where the rust around her hull was becoming very evident.

Photo: posted on the World Naval Ships Forums website and elsewhere several years ago, we have lost our original trace of this image and will credit it adequately if the ownership is brought to our attention.









accommodation on kangaroo island







Related topics:

luxor hotel luxor

accommodation in weymouth

mgm grand signature hotel

castle hotels austria

vincci taj sultan hotel hammamet

hotels blue mountain

master hotel guangzhou



08.11.2011. u 00:14 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

<< Arhiva >>

  studeni, 2011  
P U S Č P S N
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Studeni 2011 (17)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

ACCOMMODATION ON KANGAROO ISLAND

accommodation on kangaroo island, st genevieve mo bed and breakfast, virginia bed and breakfast inns